Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exclamation Transponder Problem

    Alan,

    I've been trying to get my Text LED phidget to display the squawk code from the transponder in FS9 or FSX. I get nothing. The LED Test button gives me a test display but other than that, nothing.

    I get the green 'Connected' and green FSUIPC version number, so I'm pretty sure everything is actually working. Help please.

    Andy
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  2. #2
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    583
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Aloha, Andy,

    I am assuming you assigned transponder FS Variable to TextLED.
    I tried on my system.
    Guess what ? transponder was not displayed !

    Figured what problem was.
    The offset in the ini file has a typo

    Here is how to fix:

    Fire up FSVariable Editor
    Using menu bar, Open FS Variable file you are using, say, FSVariables425.ini
    From drop down, select TRANSPONDER.
    Note that offset is displayed as 3354
    This is incorrect !!!
    This should be 0354
    Change value and press Save button.

    When you start up FS2Phidgets check that 0354 is displayed in offset column.
    The transponder should display correctly.

    Many thanks for bringing bug to my attention.

    Regards,
    Alan.

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Alan, that fixed it.
    Any idea where I can get some instrument variable files already written?
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  4. #4
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    583
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Andy,

    There aren't really any FS offsets for an instrument.
    For example there isn't an offset for Airspeed Indicator.
    However, there is an offset for Airspeed.

    Are you planning on using servos to drive gauges ?
    What gauges are you planning on using ?
    Real gauges or VARs (Very Accurate Replicas) from, say, Simkits ?

    Regards,
    Alan.

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm using Simkits guages on phidget servo boards.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ..........
    Last edited by tunatuk; 03-31-2007 at 11:13 PM. Reason: Found my own answer...

  7. #7
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    583
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Is identing the transponder a new FSX feature ?
    What are the keystrokes for Identing, etc ?

    Regards,
    Alan.

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ..........

Similar Threads

  1. XPNDR - Transponder
    By shearder in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 04:57 AM
  2. New transponder
    By gokhotit in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 01:28 PM
  3. Transponder for GA (Cessna)
    By colt45 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 07:03 PM
  4. Transponder
    By bindook in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-22-2007, 02:07 AM