1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Need some help on servo controllers!

Hi,

Im currently building a tachometer for my C182 and is looking at all the many options to drive the servo using the controller while connected to FS2004

Firstly,

OpenCockpits, Phidgets and SimKits all sell USB servo controllers. OpenCockpits seems to sell the cheapest servo controllers and is my prefered option. Phidgets is an option though a little more expensive, and lastly there is simkits the most expensive option (their servo controllers come with software to drive instruments in FS)

Next...

If i buy the OpenCockpits USB servo controller, how do you link this to FS9 so that the servo works as the tachometer?

I am a complete novice when it comes to programming and software design, id be clearly rubbish at this and has no experience of programming whatso ever.

I have FSUIPC on FS9, so is there a simple piece of software already designed or built to drive servos from FS9 using OC servo controllers?

Or is there anyone kind enough to teach me how to code something for it to work?

Im completely lost on this subject, but a tacho doesnt seem to be an advanced piece of kit, so im assuming a servo driven tacho should be a relatively easy device to make with the right hardware?

Correct?

Many many thanks in advance if you can help me/ solve the problem.

Thank you so much.

Alex
    GA or the Highway!

500+ This must be a daytime job

OpenCockpits, Phidgets and SimKits all sell USB servo controllers. OpenCockpits seems to sell the cheapest servo controllers and is my prefered option. Phidgets is an option though a little more expensive, and lastly there is simkits the most expensive option (their servo controllers come with software to drive instruments in FS)
    On a side note: