Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    18
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    offsets clarification

    Hi, I encountered a problem in offsets for n1 and n2 of B744 (MSFS 2004). I managed to get the offsets of EGT and EPR , and control them (increasing and decreasing) their values on EICAS. However, I cannot do the same thing on n1 and n2, using the same method.
    These are the offsets that I managed to find for n1 and n2:
    0898 for n1 and 0896 for n2.

    This is the logics that I wrote:

    if EngSwitch
    Eng1n1 = counter 16384 100 //Eng1n1 = 0898
    Eng1n2 = counter 16384 100 //Eng1n2 = 0896
    else
    Eng1n1 = counter 0 100
    Eng1n2 = counter 0 100
    endif

    I used the same method for EGT and EPR and It works.

    Can I clarify with you if the offsets that I used are correct and can anyone help me do correction to the logics above if I had written it wrongly?

    Thank you very much for your help

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, I am not exactly sure what your trying to do, but are you sure that your variable names are correct? Did you change them? Your offsets look right. I am just trying to understand your Logic, I guess if I saw more maybe I could figure what your trying to accomplish.

    You have Eng1n1 & Eng2n1


    I have the variables below.

    fs1n1 = engine 1 N1 Value
    fs2n1 = engine 2 N1 Value.

    How were you able to get EGT to display on the Upper Eicas?

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sounds to me like someone is working on there own software.........??
    Bob Reed

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    18
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Hale View Post
    Well, I am not exactly sure what your trying to do, but are you sure that your variable names are correct? Did you change them? Your offsets look right. I am just trying to understand your Logic, I guess if I saw more maybe I could figure what your trying to accomplish.

    You have Eng1n1 & Eng2n1


    I have the variables below.

    fs1n1 = engine 1 N1 Value
    fs2n1 = engine 2 N1 Value.

    How were you able to get EGT to display on the Upper Eicas?

    Best regards,

    Trev
    Hi, I am writing exactly the same with the one I write for N1 and N2.
    Offsets for EGT and EPR are as follow:
    08BC 2 E1EPR
    08BE 2 E1EGT
    It works... and I still haven't got the solution to make the N1 and N2 rise.

    fs1n1 and fs1n2 are the ones inside sysvar with xxxx offsets rite? Do you know what xxxx means? I read the comment in the sysvar that says these offsets are handled internally.

    Regards,
    Smoki

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes,

    I am under the impression, and I hope I am wrong, because I am intrigued with your quest here. I didn't think you can change FS1n1 and Fs2n1 etc.
    Hence offsets are handles internally. You coul probably read them, just not write to them.

    If you find out the solution to this problem, please let em know. I would like to change my N1 and N2 values to something that suits my aircraft better.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Actually, now I may be wrong it was a long time ago... Seems Enrico used to scale the N1 for one of his softwares. Now I may be off on this but I do seem to recall that but how it would be done is WAY beyond me.
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You know what , it was the Boeing package and you could scale the N1 and N2 so you could use it with turbo props. I do not remember how but that is what it was. I am sure the software is capable of doing it still, just have to find out how.
    Bob Reed

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    18
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    You know what , it was the Boeing package and you could scale the N1 and N2 so you could use it with turbo props. I do not remember how but that is what it was. I am sure the software is capable of doing it still, just have to find out how.
    Hi Bob,

    I don't quite understand what you mean by scaling the N1 and N2. I read from the FSUIPC offset list (089, it mentions about calculation for Prop RPM (multiplying by RPM scaler). Is that what you mean? And I am working on B747-400, do you think that I must use RPM scaler to control my N1 and N2? Thank you

    Regards,
    Smoki

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    No!! N1 and N2 should be there when the engines are running. What 747 are you using? Something is not right there.
    Bob Reed

  10. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    18
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    No!! N1 and N2 should be there when the engines are running. What 747 are you using? Something is not right there.
    Hi Bob,

    I am using 747-400 from MSFS 2004. The N1 and N2 indication are rising when the engines are started. However, I want to control the N1 and N2 just by switching a switch to ON position, without starting the engines. It can be done for EPR and EGT but not for N1 and N2 (using the logics posted previously).

    regards,
    Smoki

Similar Threads

  1. Difference between stepper and servo - clarification sought
    By Paul G in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-03-2016, 02:09 AM
  2. Clarification
    By warvet in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 03:39 PM
  3. Approach phase clarification
    By mmakela in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-05-2008, 06:35 AM
  4. Clarification
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 05:41 AM