Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member stefanloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    61
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    CDU: Fly-By vs. Fly-Over waypoints

    Hi fellow pilots,

    one thing I noticed is that my CDU (Build 389) handles normal enroute waypoints as "fly-over" waypoints. This means that it commands the aircraft to fly directly over a waypoint instead of turning to the next leg shortly before reaching the waypoint itself (called "fly-by" waypoint). That of course results in the aircraft overshooting the planned track. After passing a waypoint, the aircraft has to re-capture the filghtplan.

    As far as I konw, enroute waypoints should always be "fly-by" waypoints, while "fly-over" waypoints are only used for certain defined approach or departure routes.

    Of course this is not such a big issure, but maybe there is a way to change this?


    Best regards,
    Stefan.
    Stefan Loss
    Cologne, Germany

    737-NG
    Engravity, Project Magenta Full Boeing Software

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    For certain STAR's in Europe, fly-by waypoints are also used to keep aircraft in protected airspace and out of someone elses way. Many examples are available at the various airports.

    Sorry, I can't help with your question about the automation.

    I start my turn when the DME reads 5NM +/- depending upon wind speed and direction. That usually gets me to the next course centerline with a minumum of correction. Sometimes I'll have to use the wiz-wheel to figure a new WCA for the new course or I'll use bracketing.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Stefan,

    do you set your cost index? That entry is required to calculate the magenta path correctly.

    Hans

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    13
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have been meaning to ask the same question for a while. Normal enroute waypoints should be handled as flypast waypoints...the aircraft should only overfly waypoints designated as fly-over...they are usually only found in sids and stars as far as I know...not very often in north america, but seem to be pretty common in europe. I am assuming the FMS software in the boeings has a way to designate certain waypoints as flyover...I know honeywell FMSs in the aircraft I fly have that ability.

    I have noticed the same behaviour with the PM cdu, it seems to treat all waypoints as flyover. I haven't found anything in the software allowing this to be changed.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    they are fly-over if they are in a (more or less) straight line.
    I do see the plane turning a bit before the waypoint, if the next is at an angle!

    Hans

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I can't see flying right over a fix if a turn is involved like you said Hans.

    A good example is the turn from UZ111 at OBIGA onto UL984. If you wait until over the intersection to turn you're liable to hit someone on Y863 heading for FFM.

    Not much margin in congested airspace.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ""....do you set your cost index? That entry is required to calculate the magenta path correctly...""

    By the way what are the usual values for it.
    In some doc I have seen that it goes from 0 to 999 but apparently PM does not accept over 400 or so..
    Anyone has precise info on that?
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member stefanloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    61
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi all,

    I always do the complete preflight setup. For cost index, I usually use 80 or 100. In fact, 80 was the poposed CI setting for the 767 PIC.


    According to Bill Bulferīs FMC guide, CI can be chosen between 0 and 500. The higher the CI, the shorter the flight time will be (for the cost of increased fuel and wear).
    Stefan Loss
    Cologne, Germany

    737-NG
    Engravity, Project Magenta Full Boeing Software

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    thank you fot the info
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I payed plose attention last nite:

    When I reach a waypoint that implies a heading change, this is what happens:

    1. the plane starts the turn BEFORE the waypoint
    2. the waypoint drops (disappears from NAV display)
    3. the magenta line is redrawn from the plane's position to the next waypoint
    4. once the turn towards the new WP is complete, the magenta line is again redrawn.

    Don't know if it works the same in the real plane, but it works for me...

    Hans

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fly -over -waypoints
    By ktroemer in forum PM Boeing FMC/CDU
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-29-2010, 01:26 PM
  2. FSX - 737 - PM - Waypoints
    By ktroemer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 12-21-2008, 06:28 AM
  3. Why am I missing fixes or waypoints?????????
    By Simran737 in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2008, 09:17 AM
  4. Lat/long waypoints in CDU
    By Jackpilot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-15-2007, 10:30 PM
  5. Deleting waypoints in PM CDU
    By PaulEMB in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2007, 03:43 AM