Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ideas for throttle handles

    Alright, I'm building a TQ based off of an old logitech wingman joystick. I have the framework all mapped out, and have the pots and everything, but I have no idea at all what I could use for handles.

    anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    tunatuk,

    Cut some PVC pipe of the right diameter into sections that are the right length. Get some stainless steel bolts of the right size in both length and diameter. Get a package of epoxy plumber's putty. Fill the section of pipe with the kneaded putty, pressing down on a flat table surface to finish the ends. CAREFULLY press the bolt into the center of the putty on one end, leaving the correct amount projecting to mount to the handles. Let it set. Use a dremel and 320 grit wet/dry SiC paper to clean up any nasties. Spray paint....and mount.

    best,

    ....................john

  3. #3
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing Tip Of The Day!

    try some handles from a diy store or failing that use some empty cotton reels they dont even need painting and have a hollow middle to easily wire switches autopilot etc in them!

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I used Delrin rod. I had a friend turn them on a lathe for me to the proper shape.

    You could also use wooden dowel rod.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I used wooden dowling rod, and turned them on my lathe. Easy as pie if you have access to such a thing.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Use Bike Handlebar handles nice and rubbery ones?

    Is anyone using these?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    654
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There are many ways to build them yourself but if you ever decide that you need to buy them I do have a full set of knobs for most aircraft coming out very soon. I would me more than happy to help you.

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Check :
    http://shop.strato.de/epages/1546578...cts/737-TH-001


    Not expensive and ready to go.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    338
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Throttle Handles

    Quote Originally Posted by tunatuk View Post
    Alright, I'm building a TQ based off of an old logitech wingman joystick. I have the framework all mapped out, and have the pots and everything, but I have no idea at all what I could use for handles.

    anyone have any ideas?
    BROOM HANDLE!!

Similar Threads

  1. fire handles sizes
    By jonnydaz53 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 07:32 AM
  2. New Fire handles
    By Philb737 in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 03:21 PM