Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Spring sizes

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Spring sizes

    Guys - just about to install spings in our control load mechanism. 8 springs in total - 4 forward and 4 to the rear of the control-column connecting tube that runs under the floor. I'm all at sea with what type and size spring to get.

    When control columns are pushed forward:
    - front springs compress
    - rear springs extend

    When control columns are pulled backward:
    - front springs extend
    - rear springs compress

    So should I be using compression or tension/extension springs. And any ideas on the spring load rating?

    Just another skill area that cockpit building is forcing me to learn!
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nic,

    Gwyn is using gas springs, "Screen door closers" and he likes them. Maybe you could try that.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah, they work perfectly and the return to centre speed is adjustable.

    See http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s....php?photo=820

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s....php?photo=821

    With push pull springs it's unlikely that you will get a positive centre position which will affect trimming.

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Gwyn. Likes like another engineering marvel there!

    I can't quite make out from the pics where your control columns link in - can you explain it further?

    Also - do you have an electric trim mechanism hooked up to this?

    cheers
    Nic
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  5. #5
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here's a pic of the underside, it was taken before I fitted the centering device but you can see the lever arm that I bolted the swing plate to. The 'torque' tube connect pitch motion accurately without any free play and my pitch pot is fitted to the end of this tube.

    Under the floor - http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s....php?photo=576

    Pitch pot - http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s....php?photo=624

    Original trim drive (Now removed) - http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...177&ppuser=305

    That should clear it up for you. I don't have electric trim fitted yet although I have made it, it used to be fitted under the radio box. I removed it when I decided to fit my Sim-Boards in there. I have dual pole rocker switches on both yokes wired in parallel and they just send trim up/dn commands to FS through the Sim-Boards. I used dual pole rocker switches so the other contacts of the switch can be used to drive the trim wheels via a 12volt cordless drill motor. I found it wasn't as accurate as directly trimming through FS so I put it on the back burner. (I have a pot attached to my trim wheels through a reduction gearbox in the quad). It was way over the top really, I got a bit carried away making the quad which was my first part I made. There's quite a few redundant parts in the quad since I converted to FDT.

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Spring help please!~
    By AK Mongo in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-13-2011, 08:43 PM
  2. 777 monitor sizes
    By jamcgee1978 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 07:08 AM
  3. Spring has Sprung
    By Michael Carter in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-23-2009, 06:41 PM
  4. 737 MIP Monitor Sizes
    By droddis in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2008, 04:41 PM
  5. MIP and monitor sizes
    By garyk007 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-26-2007, 06:41 PM