Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie SSO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    234
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    Hi all,

    After 4 mths rebuilding the appartment (to get a propper sim room) I am getting up to speed again

    I wonder if you have had the same issue as I am currently experiencing.
    I have deinstalled P3Dv2.4 but still have the folders in the old location.
    I have upgraded to W10 and then installed P3Dv3.1 in a new location.

    I have uninstalled FMGS and renamed the old folder and subsequently installed B44.2. When doing the install it seems that the installer still is trying to access the P3Dv2 location, as I get a warning i I want to overwrite the Aircraft files. They should not be there and should really be located in the FMGS directory if I read the FMGS release notes correctly.
    How do I get the FMGS installer to properly focus on the 3.1 installation?

    Thanks

    /Stephen
    Cheers Stephen
    P3Dv4 Prof, FMGS A320, 1080p OH for ext. & 1080p 24" for int., TM Warthog, VATSIM (vPilot)

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie SSO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    234
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    Now I cleaned the registry for everything relating to v2 and tried to reinstall FMGS.
    That brought me one step further but...

    I get the following error message. It seems like there is a backslash "\" missing in the FMGS assembled path.

    What to do?

    /Stephen
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Cheers Stephen
    P3Dv4 Prof, FMGS A320, 1080p OH for ext. & 1080p 24" for int., TM Warthog, VATSIM (vPilot)

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,426
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    Hi,

    I'll have a look.

    Best regards,
    JL

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,426
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    It's strange that it tries to get into that folder with V3.X??
    Are you sure you removed all other registry entries for P3D V2?

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie SSO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    234
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    Quote Originally Posted by jeehell View Post
    It's strange that it tries to get into that folder with V3.X??
    Are you sure you removed all other registry entries for P3D V2?
    I deleted the whole subsection "Prepar3D v2" in "Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Lockheed Martin".
    This clearly made a difference to the installer as it had previously adressed the v2 directory.

    /Stephen
    Cheers Stephen
    P3Dv4 Prof, FMGS A320, 1080p OH for ext. & 1080p 24" for int., TM Warthog, VATSIM (vPilot)

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,426
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    There are other entries, off the top of my head I dont recall them, but there are other entries, worth making a registry search.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie SSO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    234
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    Ok - I will check. I stopped there as I saw that the installer changed behaviour based on the deleted subsection
    Cheers Stephen
    P3Dv4 Prof, FMGS A320, 1080p OH for ext. & 1080p 24" for int., TM Warthog, VATSIM (vPilot)

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    Quote Originally Posted by SSO View Post
    Now I cleaned the registry for everything relating to v2 and tried to reinstall FMGS.
    That brought me one step further but...

    I get the following error message. It seems like there is a backslash "\" missing in the FMGS assembled path.

    What to do?

    /Stephen
    Yes, the installer still wants to install the PA aircraft into Prepar3D\simobjects folder -- as you all probably know respecting directories, and their structures have taken new meaning in P3D 3.0+

    I have installed the FMGS aircraft model outside P3D (its actually just in the FMGS folder), and referenced it with the P3D config files.
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie SSO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    234
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    Quote Originally Posted by OmniAtlas View Post
    Yes, the installer still wants to install the PA aircraft into Prepar3D\simobjects folder -- as you all probably know respecting directories, and their structures have taken new meaning in P3D 3.0+
    I thought I saw in the FMGS changelog that this should no longer be the case.

    Quote Originally Posted by OmniAtlas View Post
    I have installed the FMGS aircraft model outside P3D (its actually just in the FMGS folder), and referenced it with the P3D config files.
    Where do you create this reference to an external location for Aircrafts?

    I noted that ORBX also by default still installs inside the P3D directory.

    /Stephen
    Cheers Stephen
    P3Dv4 Prof, FMGS A320, 1080p OH for ext. & 1080p 24" for int., TM Warthog, VATSIM (vPilot)

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Upgrading from P3D2.4 to 3.1 Problem with installation location

    Orbx is still in their own little world.

    C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Simobjects.cfg
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  11. Likes SSO liked this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast