Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help needed

75+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Help needed

Hello. I am completely new to the world of arduino. I have managed to get a toggle switch working and have incorporated it into a prototype gear lever which works the undercarriage. I though 'I got a switch to work how hard can a push button be'. Hours later and still confused.

I have bee struggling all day with floating pins. I have researched and have done everything I could think of. I started by testing the code with the onboard LED and that worked fine but as soon as I changed it into a serial.println fo Link2FS to swap NAV 1 active & stby radios over, they went nuts and kept flicking between the two.

A general question I have is from my reading it seems that there are 2 ways to use the internal pull up resistor. firstly by using a digitalWrite(input, HIGH) or by pinMode(?, INPUT_PULLUP). Is this right or have I completely missed it? What is the difference between these two lines?

Anyway the code I have now ended up with is this which seems to have stopped the floating but when I push the button, unless I am quick it will keep repeating. The only thing I could think of to prevent this was to include a delay. It works but is there a more efficient way of doing this.

Code:
    void setup() {

Serial.begin(115200);
    pinMode(9, INPUT_PULLUP);
    digitalWrite(9, HIGH);
    }

void loop() {
    bool buttonState = digitalRead(9);
    if (9, buttonState == LOW){
    Serial.println("A06");
    delay(1000);
    }
    }
    Many thanks
    Marc

150+ Forum Groupie

Re: Help needed

Download Jim's http://www.jimspage.co.nz/multi_starter_pack.htm on the page http://www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm Run the starter pack 2 ino. Connect only what you need for now, two pushbuttons for the gear and the LEDs.