Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    Good morning folks.

    Since it's my first post, and just to introduce myself; I'm Rafa, real-world Airbus A330 driver, and co-builder of one of the first homebuilt B738 simulator projects in Europe back in 2001. We based it on FS-BUS hardware back when one had to manufacture everything, from backlit panels to printed circuit boards. Still running 14 years later.

    Anyway, now I am trying to setup a simple JeeHell A320 system on a Win7 64bits machine running FSX. All FSX service packs and acceleration are installed, aerosoft navdata was purchased a couple days ago and it's properly installed at the default directories.

    Installed JeeHell A320 suite version B38.8, joysticks axes and buttons running, server running, all EIS instances connecting to Server, but when MCDU starts, I get the following error on an error window titled CPT MCDU:

    "Access violation at address 025F7B00. Write of address 0055BDC8"

    Upon clicking OK in this error window, the MCDU starts with a full white display and even if I clock the keys, nothing happens. I can't initialize the flight and therefore, I'm quite stuck without a chance to fly it. I am using the supplied A320 flight model, of course. EXT PWR works, APU starts, and I can even start my engines. But PFD remains on the basic init mode and ND does not go beyond the red flags since my MCDU is stuck.

    I checked and reinstalled the aerosoft navdata a number of times. The "navrecord.dat" files are properly stored with the right sizes in the default \\users\operator\appdata\roaming\jeehellware\ , as well as in the Navdata1 and Navdata2 folders of A320FMGS.

    Tried changing compatibility modes to WinXP, tried changing antialiasing values, and stuff like that. Also let it update and it's now B38.9. I have ran out of ideas. Any hints? It's been hours of two days sitting here and I have made no progress in this matter.

    I appreciate any ideas or tips you may be willing to share.

    Cheers!

    Rafa.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    Running in admin mode? Right click -> Run as administrator.

    Also, please try downloading the latest install -- http://www.jeehell.org/A320FMGS_B38.9.exe
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,430
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    Hello,

    It could also be a graphics adapter issue, does it run on a remote computer? If yes, what graphics card is used, and are the drivers up to date?

    Regards,
    JL

  4. #4
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    Hi amigos.

    First of all, thanks for your replies.

    OmniAtlas, to your question, yes, that latest install of B38.9 was ran as admin a number of times. it made no difference.

    Jeehell, It is all setup and running in the same computer, with FSX running in a small window and the JeeHell windows arranged around the screen. The graphics card drivers were updated yesterday before starting the installation of JeeHell.

    This is driving me nuts.

    Any more ideas?

    Cheers.

    EDITED --- Using updated video drivers by the graphics card manufacturer (now AMD) rather than the ones I used yesterday (the computer manufacturer's), now the MCDU display works. THANKS FOR THE HINTS GUYS.
    Last edited by romeo_charlie; 04-29-2015 at 08:41 AM. Reason: DISPLAY ISSUE SOLVED

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    Hopefully Jeehell can now get your contributions on fine tuning FMGS

    Glad you got it fixed.
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  6. #6
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    Quote Originally Posted by OmniAtlas View Post
    Hopefully Jeehell can now get your contributions on fine tuning FMGS

    Glad you got it fixed.
    Of course; once I fix the new issue about "MCDU DISPLAY PROBLEM - PLEASE REPORT ISSUE", and I manage to get this aircraft where it belongs (in the air), I'll share my impressions.

    Cheers!

    Rafa.

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,430
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    How do you get this message exactly?

    Are you sure the navdata is correctly installed? The aerosoft application is a bit troublesome sometimes. Make sure there are *.bin files in the FMGS\navdata folder. or copy here the content of your logndb.txt file in that same folder.

    JL

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    Hi JL

    Yeah, there are several .bin files in the C:\A320FMGS\Navdata; I am looking at them as I type. But just for what it's worth, I only get the mentioned error message "MCDU DISPLAY PROBLEM - PLEASE REPORT ISSUE" when trying to access the PERF pages (both in the active data and in the SEC-FPL), and the PROG page.

    Here's the content of the logNDB.txt:

    *11:58:48 PM* Navdata module launched Server
    *11:58:48 PM*
    *11:58:55 PM*
    *11:58:55 PM* Navdata1:
    *11:58:55 PM* -ARPTliste:15376
    *11:58:55 PM* -NavaidListe:18173
    *11:58:55 PM* -FIXliste:187354
    *11:58:55 PM* -AWYsegments:97807
    *11:58:55 PM* -MarkerList:2492
    *11:58:55 PM*
    *11:58:55 PM* Navdata2:
    *11:58:55 PM* -ARPTliste:15376
    *11:58:55 PM* -NavaidListe:18173
    *11:58:55 PM* -FIXliste:187354
    *11:58:55 PM* -AWYsegments:97807
    *11:58:55 PM* -MarkerList:2492
    *11:58:55 PM*
    *11:58:55 PM* server started on port:8006
    *11:58:59 PM* Client connected: 127.0.0.1
    *11:58:59 PM* Client connected: 127.0.0.1
    *11:59:21 PM* Client Disconnected: 127.0.0.1
    *11:59:21 PM*
    *11:59:21 PM* Module stopped normally

    What does this tell you?

    Cheers.

    Rafa.

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,430
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    This looks correct, meaning you did install correctly the navdata.
    When you try to access PERF and/or PROG page, what data have you already inserted in the MCDU?
    I could need the DEP/ARR airfield pair, as well as the DEP RWY & SID if any entered.

    JL

  10. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCDU error "access violation" B38.8

    Hi JL

    I followed the standard initialization proccess in the FMGS, you know the Airbus D-I-F-F-R-I-P-P sequence, and it was in first instance when trying to specify Wx data in the SEC-FPL PERF APP page for the return to the field secondary, then when trying to access PROG page to check FLT LVLS and to set RWY threshold reference, and finally when trying to access the PERF page to set up T/O performance data (Speeds, THR RED/ACC alts, Flaps/Trim and Flex). I tried in a number of airports, initially on a EKCH to LFMP flight plan, then in the middle east on a OEJN-OEJN test flt with Radar departures and standard ILD arrivals.

    But forget all this, I just installed your new version B39 and now it all works. I am going to fly a full Copenhagen-Perpignan leg as it was dispatched a month ago for a flight I did to take an A330 to maintenance, and let's see.

    Considering now building a second home cockpit. Let's see about hardware options. This is some awesome work you have done here, my friend.

    Is there anything else you want to know now?

    Cheers!

    Rafa.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread