Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Angry Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Something really frustrating happened today. I'm running the Boeing Glass Cockpit, FMC & pmSystems on 4 monitors connected to the same computer. I had the PFD/ND, Upper & Lower ECIAS, FMC, CDU and Overhead Panel up and running. I left the cockpit for a while and when I came back Windows Update had restarted my computer, shutting down all Windows without CTRL-Q. When I tried to open a GC Window it didn't show up on any screen even though it was on the taskbar. I couldn't do anything with it with the mouse, I tried all sorts of keyboard commands but nothing would make it appear on the desktop. I finally discovered I could use the task manager to maximize the window, then w to move it and some how I managed to shrink the window down really small. Now, I can move the window around the screen with the mouse but dragging the edges to resize it doesn't work. So I'm stuck with this tiny PFD on the screen. I opened the task manager again to see if there was anything I could do with it, I clicked on show processes, and now it won't get out of that. The menu at the top of the Window is gone. Restarted Windows7 but nothing changed. I've done everything I know to do except reinstall PM and maybe even Windows. Any body else have a clue how to fix this?

    Jerry

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Jerry,

    Something similar has happened to me in the past and the easiest way to solve it was to restore the GC folder and its contents from a backup. The settings are saved in files that are impossible to edit. My advice if you don't have a backup would be to delete the GC folder and reinstall. You then need to use the CTRL + arrow keys to resize the display to your liking.

    You might also consider changing Windows updates to inform when available but don't install. That way you have some control.

    Once you have things working again make backups so you never get caught out again.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Reinstalled and updated GC, CDU & MCP and got everything working. Not sure what caused the glitch. I will definitely stop Windows Auto Update. Thanks Ray.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lisboa, PT
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Hi all,

    If you're using Project Magenta, maybe you know how to solve this:

    I've been without using PM for a long time, so I don't know which new build is responsible for this change, the problem is that when aircraft arrives ALT CRZ, it keeps bouncing up and down causing excessives g-forces.

    Would it be some kind of config problem, as nobody else is complaining?


    Thanks!

    Joao

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Jerry. Glad you're up and running again.

    Joao, Hard to say without more info. What aircraft for a start. Your best bet is to raise a ticket and log it formally. I raised one myself this morning and Enrico seems to prefer that type of communication to email. He doesn't visit this forum of course.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lisboa, PT
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Hi Ray, thanks for replying.
    The aircraft is the Wilco Airbus 320.

    I raised a ticket some days ago, no reply from Project Magenta. Which is something that unfortunately I'm used to...

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    I too have started having a problem with the PM MCP holding the altitude. Climb and descent will hold fairly steady as long as I use VS rather than VNAV but as soon as it levels off the nose starts to oscillate up and down getting worse and worse until it finally crashes due to stress. I’m using the default aircraft-B737/B747 but have tried other aircraft as well so it isn’t any particular flight model. Gets pretty exhausting when I have to hand fly a heavy for a couple of hours. Also, sometimes one or all of my engines will shut down for no apparent reason, on the ground or in flight. Sometimes they will restart, sometimes not and I have to restart FSX. I was wondering if you ever found a solution to this problem. I've updated my PM software to the latest release. I'm beginning to think the only solution is a reinstall of FSX. I dread that. It takes many hours with all the addons I've accumulated over the years and tweaking.


    Jerry

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Hi Jerry,

    The default B737 is not very good. As a PM customer you are entitled to use the PM 737-800 which should be available from your download page.

    That is the officially sanctioned 737 so should work fine with PM and FSX. From my own experience I have found it over-speeds on descent and even applying full speed brakes doesn't slow it down. But it is fine on climb and cruise.

    Regarding engines shutting down that's not something I've encountered with FSX SP2. The ticket system is all can can suggest even though support is not brilliant. Try writing to support at PM. The address should be on the website.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Thanks for replying Ray. I think I downloaded the PM B737 but I haven't used it in a while. Can I use my default repaints with the PM 737 or just put the PM aircraft.cfg in my default 737. I built my cockpit based on the B747-400 using a laser machine when my son worked in a sign shop. I decided I really like flying the B737 better, expecially since I prefer short haul flights, 1-2 hours. If I decide to build a 737 I will have to find another way to make panels. Anyway, I will give the PM 737 a try.


    Jerry
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Glass Cockpit Windows

    Hi Jerry,

    That's a lovely setup you have there.

    I would recommend you install the complete PM738 and if you want to add different repaints edit the aircraft.cfg and include them in additional [flightsim.x] sections. That will ensure you use all the features PM intended.

    But you might want to try the default PM737 first just to see if it's an improvement over your existing one.
    Last edited by Ray Proudfoot; 11-19-2015 at 11:29 AM. Reason: Additional info
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast