Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    New video of my 737-200 SIM

    Got the ADI partially working now. Need to upgrade my servo's to 12bit ones but for now these will work. Sorry for the quality, hard to film and fly! lol Back to work now on it, lots to do I uploaded 2 vids today to my channel. Will get a landing later at night.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjK1uKAufGo

    Rob

  2. Thanks Matt Olieman thanked for this post
    Likes Matt Olieman, yoss liked this post
  3. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    This is a pretty awesome video Rob. I am thinking about going the way of mechanical instruments, that is the closest you are going to get to the real thing!

  4. #3
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    excellent video, well done!
    How many hours on average does it take for each guage conversion and do you have any tips?

    Best regards
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Moore OK
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    Hi Rob, great to see your gear in action. Your altimeter definitely looks smoother than the ones I did the FSX software for. You're using servos to run driver synchros on the ADI, right?

    Speaking of which, is that a Sperry ADI? Did most of the old -200s have this? The sim I worked on uses the "paper roller" style Collins units.

    Matt

  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    Quote Originally Posted by Geremy Britton View Post
    excellent video, well done!
    How many hours on average does it take for each guage conversion and do you have any tips?

    Best regards
    Hi Geremy
    It really depends but as an average 2-4hrs per gauge. The ADI I have well over that. If you or anyone needs help on a gauge it would be gauge specific and interface specific so general tips wouldn't really work. I'll though as best I can with any questions.
    Rob

  7. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    Quote Originally Posted by xplanematt View Post
    Hi Rob, great to see your gear in action. Your altimeter definitely looks smoother than the ones I did the FSX software for. You're using servos to run driver synchros on the ADI, right?

    Speaking of which, is that a Sperry ADI? Did most of the old -200s have this? The sim I worked on uses the "paper roller" style Collins units.

    Matt
    Hi Matt,
    Yes i'm using Hitec 7944's but at only 1023 resolution right now. It works ok but I want smoother. Most 737's pre digital had the Collins Tape adi's. SOme had the Sperry. The cool thing about the Sperry ADI's is that they have the conversion and amplifier circuits inside so a simple synchro transmitter signal can be used to drive them. Same for my HSI which I hope to have in the SIM in a month or two. The Altimeter uses a aerospace precision 10T pot as feed back to a POLOLU Jrk21 12bit motor controller. That gets driven by a 12bit servo input. It is within 20ft 90% of the time. The gearing in the altimeter works out to 5K ft per one turn of the Pot. Wish I could find a 7 turn pot LOL

    Rob

  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Moore OK
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    Interesting, that's very handy about the Sperry units. I am fortunate to have two of the amp units for my Collins set.....I could probably hackerize the ADIs and avoid the need for 400hz and CX units, but they are so gorgeous......I can't bring myself to touch them. I will run CXs like you're doing. But I'll be using Hall encoders and DC motor drives, so I can have full 360* rotation (what can I say, I like my aerobatics.....) Any plans to use the flight director command bars?

    Are you also using servos and CXs for the engine gauges?

    Matt

  9. #8
    25+ Posting Member


    daveaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA, Oklahoma
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    VERY nice!

  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    Quote Originally Posted by xplanematt View Post
    Interesting, that's very handy about the Sperry units. I am fortunate to have two of the amp units for my Collins set.....I could probably hackerize the ADIs and avoid the need for 400hz and CX units, but they are so gorgeous......I can't bring myself to touch them. I will run CXs like you're doing. But I'll be using Hall encoders and DC motor drives, so I can have full 360* rotation (what can I say, I like my aerobatics.....) Any plans to use the flight director command bars?

    Are you also using servos and CXs for the engine gauges?

    Matt
    Matt,
    Yes, FD will be fully functional as well as the GS and rising runway. Just a matter of time and money as always. I'm waiting on getting a good true sine wave 400Hz power supply before I go any farther on the HSI or ADI. My engine gauges are or will be a combination of micro servos or PWM DC signal's The RPM gauges have servo's mounted inside turning the needle shaft via a couple of gears. Pretty simple actually to do.

    My issue is the learning curve on the Teensy Arduino card I have. I have to learn a new language that is tough for me with out some instruction. Reading on the web or a book is not enough.

    Rob

  11. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Moore OK
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: New video of my 737-200 SIM

    Pardon my ignorance, but what is the "rising runway"? I get nervous if the runway is rising too fast.

    Matt

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast