Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    am I in over my head?

    I am trying to work with open cockpit io card dc motors and cant seem to understand where to start with the sioc. I do not understand this at all. I tried to go the the OC website to download a manual but it keeps showing some kind of server failure. Is ther another source for me to learn how all this works? I am not a comptuor programmer, have I bit off more than I can handle? Any help would be great! Here is a pic of my project as I get started, a GA panel.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: am I in over my head?

    Hi,
    O/c and sioc can be daunting, bu tif little steps are taken it can be mastered enough to drive
    your cockpit Have look at Nico's site, should help you.

    http://www.lekseecon.nl/howto.html

    Good Luck
    Les

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: am I in over my head?

    Thanks for the advice. I am certain I can figure it out, I just need logical advice. Readign oc manuals are a challenge to say the least!

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: am I in over my head?

    The SIOC window, Where it defines IO cards, it says "stopped" under the status. \It never starts. what am I missing?

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: am I in over my head?

    Hello gspannelljr

    Here is the link to the Manual for USB-DC Motor

    And look here for a nice review

    The important part in SIOC.ini is:
    USBDCmotor=0,xx // "0" for your first motor card and xx = USB port identifier.

    Remember you also have SIOC-Monitor to test the board without running any SIOC-code.
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: am I in over my head?

    thanks for the link, big help. However, SIOC still is not working. it looks to me like it is not "starting"? Here are two screen shots perhaps theymake sense to you. Thanks for the help!
    Attached Images Attached Images