Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    surrounded by hostile natives.....NE Anglais
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thinking of getting a new PC

    I'm looking at upgrading to a newer/more powerful pc to mainly use for flt sim stuff and was wondering what would be the less troublesome route?
    Would I be better off with:

    -windows 7
    -windows 8 or
    -keeping vista on the new pc as I've had no real problems with MSFSims using it. ?

    also are there problems with 32/64bit systems with regards fs9/fsx?

    thanks

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    I've installed FSX on 17 PCs in past 6 months. Four are XP and the rest are 64bit Windows 7. No problems at all. I would not use Windows 8 for flight sim just because it's too new and there are some issues floating around on the Internet. Also it's startup and interface make it more difficult to do some things.

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    Yes, XP or Windows7 64bit are fine. Best advice is to get an overclocked CPU minimum 4.4ghz. FSX needs high cpu clock speeds and then more!

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    I will also recommend an SSD as a Harddrive! Makes everything faster!

    Regards

    Roberto

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    If you have to buy a new OS for your new PC, then I would choose Windows 7 64 Bit.

    If you were planning on using an existing copy of Vista to save you buying a new OS, and you've had no problems with it, then stick with it (although W7 is better).

    I would also go SSD. I've been using them for ages and sad to say the HDD no longer cuts the mustard for me.

    Regards 32/64 bit, you'll need to look at all your hardware that requires bespoke drivers and make sure there's a 64 bit version available for it. Most things are covered now, but worth checking.

    Main reason for you to consider 64 bit is if you want to put more than 4Gb of RAM into your new PC. That is the limit for 32 bit systems.

    Sean

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    surrounded by hostile natives.....NE Anglais
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    how do Sean n t'others,

    I'm running at max RAM on my current pc as it is on 32bit vista and the performance info says it is 64bit capable,
    but looking into upgrading to 64bit looks a right mare so I may just aswell get win 7 64 ,as it would be nice to be able to use fs9/fsx with all detail levels on a high as possible level................... without...........................long............................pauses.................inbetween......................every..........
    frame..........
    pc specs =
    HP a6220
    intel(r) core (tm)2 duo CPU e4400 @2ghz
    3.5G RAM
    ATI HD2400 card
    it says total available graphics memory 1791MB,dedicated graphics mem 256mb (so low spec card i guess).

    All no doubt ancient by this weeks standards but gates n co can get bent if I'm upgrading everything every month!

    tally ho!

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    I don't think you'll see any difference in frame rates between W7/64 or Vista/32 on that PC.

    Unless you have to buy a new OS, use what you have. If buying a new licence, get W7.

    Sean

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    surrounded by hostile natives.....NE Anglais
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    but if I bought a new one i5 esq with win7 I would wouldn't I.....?this is what I'm looking at getting minus the screen n keyboard mouse n speakers=
    AMD "Trinity" A8-5600K (3.9Ghz)
    Quad Core Mid Range System
    AMD A8-5600K Quad Core (3.9GHz)
    1TB SATA III Hard Drive
    16GB DDR3 Memory
    OnBoard Graphics, Sound, LAN & USB 2.0 & 3.0
    24 Speed DVD-RW
    21.5" Widescreen TFT Monitor
    Multimedia Keyboard & Optical Mouse
    Stereo Speakers
    Microsoft Windows 7 or 8 Home (64 bit)
    Open Office Software
    AntiVirus Software

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    Sorry, but an on-board graphics chip will not give you the performance you need/expect from FSX.

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Thinking of getting a new PC

    Agreed, a dedicated graphics card is a must if you are upgrading the PC.

    I would also get the Intel i5 over the AMD. I'm a little out of touch with the latest PC hardware, but the Intel i-line processors have ruled the roost since they first appeared.

    EDIT - Thats's a lot of RAM, but it's cheap. You'd need a 64 bit OS to take advantage of that amount.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast