Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    Here are some additional pics of all the overhead panels installed. Still have to convert most of them to LED's but all the center panels are modified and operational.

    With regards to my previous post on overhead panel structurual integrity....nothing has come crashing down yet..so I guess its good to go
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie AVIATor-Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    178
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    Looks good! Good to see others building " classic cockpits" using real hardware. What guages are you using for the Capt an FO MIPs? Also, what sim and flight model are you using?

    Cheers
    Tor

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    Hello Avator-Olav,

    for the Capatains and F/O panels, i am using FSPanel studio to enlarge and place the instruments behind 15" lcd screens. What i really want to do is use real instruments modified....but not sure if that is an option or not.

    The engine gauges, flap gauge, and fuel gauges all function using Open Cockpits USB servo cards and are programmed using SIOC.

    With respect to the simulator platform...i am using a generic freeware download as the payware or some other offerings do not work well with FSPanel studio.

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie AVIATor-Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    178
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    I use FSPS also for all my guages. A mix of freeware and payware guages in my case. I'd love to go with real guages one day, but I doubt it's going to happen. Too much work to interface I fear.Besides, my setup is really nice and stable now, so I dread to mess with it! :/ what fs version are you using? Fs9, fsx, xp?
    Nice build!

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    I am using FS9 with the windows XP operating system. I haven't started on the visuals yet.....however I do have a licenced copy of Wideview and a second computer to run one view (at the moment). I entertained the thought of using the Matrox TH2go, but decided that the frame rates would just disappoint me...so I will be getting more computers online and using "Wideview" exclusivley through a network to run my outside views.

    The only question now is monitors or overhead projectors.

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    I believe you can servo operate the Captain and F/O Gauges, but none of the flags would work. There simply aren't any servos that are small enough to use to operate them.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    You could actually just operate the fail flags off a 5 volt power supply of some sort. It would be nice to see them in view and then disappear when you 'power up'.

    I am still open to options...will probably try and get someone to modify them for me if I go the route...i have all the real gauges necessary...just not the technology to modify.

    I was going to approach Leo Bodnar to do this for me...but he seems to have disappeared off the face of the earth.

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    You might want to take a look at this:
    Flight Simulator Interface to Real Avionics Instruments by V1 Avionics Team — Kickstarter
    I wonder if it's any good.

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    Thanks Avro...will check them out!

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 146 Overhead panel compete! (just about)

    Avro, i checked this out and like it a lot. Do you have anymore information on these guys...V1 Avionics...it seems that they are still in the development stage(?). I fired them off an email so hopefully will get a reply. Thanks for pointing them out to me!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast