Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 737 Cockpit HUD

  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,048
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    737 Cockpit HUD



    Interesting to actually see this implemented.

    Do you guys have any idea how he overlayed the NGX HUD onto the glass?

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    130
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Cockpit HUD

    I don't think he's putting anything on the glass. It's just for show. The glass hinge has a micro switch that the triggers the hud to appear on screen or turn off.

    You can see the hud disappear when he starts to flip it up.

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,048
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Cockpit HUD

    Ah yeah, I missed the last part of the video.

    Would be great if someone actually implemented a real-life HUD in their home cockpit!

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie choffmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany, Hanau
    Posts
    231
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Cockpit HUD

    Actually I am in the process to build a Hud system. I use a semitransparent glas formed in the shape of the real combiner and use a simple Tft monitor placed ca 20 cm behind the combiner. First results are encouraging. However I wont go into further detail until I built the system into my new shell. The cost for the combiner glas is about 60 Euros.

    Regards
    Chris
    HTML Code:
    http://www.virtualpilot.jimdo.com/

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,048
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Cockpit HUD

    Keep us updated Chris!
    How are you extracting the HUD data?
    afaik the ngx and ifly are the only models with the HUD system.

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie choffmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany, Hanau
    Posts
    231
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Cockpit HUD

    I use PM software. In GC there is a HUD option en lieu de PFD.
    Cheers
    Chris
    HTML Code:
    http://www.virtualpilot.jimdo.com/

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Reading
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Cockpit HUD

    Quote Originally Posted by choffmann View Post
    Actually I am in the process to build a Hud system. I use a semitransparent glas formed in the shape of the real combiner and use a simple Tft monitor placed ca 20 cm behind the combiner. First results are encouraging. However I wont go into further detail until I built the system into my new shell. The cost for the combiner glas is about 60 Euros.

    Regards
    Chris
    Hi I am also looking at building a HUD can you give me any details of how you managed to build yours. This would be much appreciated Andy

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie choffmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany, Hanau
    Posts
    231
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Cockpit HUD

    Hi Andy
    I know it is a little late of a reply to your post. Nevertheless, go to my homepage at
    Www.virtualpilot.jimdo.com
    and you will find a subpage with the details I have collected so far.
    Hopefully I can manage more progress and eventual completion of the thing.
    Regards
    Chris
    HTML Code:
    http://www.virtualpilot.jimdo.com/

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie choffmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany, Hanau
    Posts
    231
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Cockpit HUD

    Here is a little progress I made with my HUD System.
    First of all it was painstaking to build a fairly recognisable overhead unit. It is wooden and preliminary fitted with plexi, later I will replace the plexi with my beam splitter glass.
    The most difficult Problem I have is to align the projected HUD imagery with the outside world. As you know, in Microsoft´s FS the straight down Vision is somewhat to the right. The glass, however, is positioned in line with your straight view.
    I am sure there is a workaround for this. I will keep you updated.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    HTML Code:
    http://www.virtualpilot.jimdo.com/

  10. Likes Geremy Britton liked this post