Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Problem using Advanced Servo Phidget with FS2Phidget5

    Hello, first time caller, and novice Phidget user here. I am trying to integrate a FlightDeck Solutions Rudder Trim Module into my B744 cockpit and have been unable to get the Phidget Advanced Servo to work. I have all the inputs working well through FDS InterfaceIT and FSIUPC.

    My system is as follows seven networked PCs (all WinXP SP3), Server runs FSX and the visual, the clients run the various components of a Project Majenta Boeing Suite.

    The InterfaceIT board, and Phidget Advancec Servo controller are connectec to the server directly via USB. I installed the Phidget Control Panel, Phidget21, Version 2.1.8, and it sees the Advanced Servo Controller. I then installed FS2Phidgets5 and built a circuit with a FSOutput [Rudder_Trim] connected to my motor. So far so good, but when I try to assign the Phidget to the output motor using the Phidget Drop Down menus I get an exception error - Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow...

    Tried uninstalling FS2Phidgets5 and working with an earlier version 4.3.65. Here the Advanced Servo Controller seems to cycle on and off, like to USB connection is disconnecting/reconnecting evert second or so with a associated beep. The servo moves but only drives one direction and cannot be stopped without killing the FS2Phidgets app.

    Anybody out there have the answer/or ideas?

    Thanks,

    Dave

  2. #2
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem using Advanced Servo Phidget with FS2Phidget5

    Dave,

    Are you using advanced servo to drive a rudder trim indicator?

    Regards,
    Alan

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem using Advanced Servo Phidget with FS2Phidget5

    Yes. That is how it came from FDS. The servo drives a tape with the rudder position indicator index against a fixed index scale.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem using Advanced Servo Phidget with FS2Phidget5

    FDS provided code for Phidgets 4.3.8 I tried using it with 4.3.66 but the servo only cycled on and off moving the indicator to the righ. It almost seemed that the USB connection was cycling on and off.

  5. #5
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem using Advanced Servo Phidget with FS2Phidget5

    Was servo mechanically linked to indicator?
    Send an email to alan@cococutair.com
    Easier to work thru problem.
    Also attach code that FDS provided.

  6. #6
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem using Advanced Servo Phidget with FS2Phidget5

    Dave,
    I just tried the advanced servo controller assigned to the rudder trim.
    I can assign the FsVariable to the motor, but I get an invalid property error when I click on the calibrate button.
    This is because the number range of the sliders on the calibration form needs to be whole numbers.
    The number range for the rudder trim is -0.4 to +0.4
    I had similiar problem with the analog output calibration.
    Will fix code and let you have an updated version once I receive your email.

    Regards,
    Alan
    Last edited by CocnutAir; 01-09-2013 at 08:38 PM.

  7. #7
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem using Advanced Servo Phidget with FS2Phidget5

    Dave,

    Here is quick workaround for now:
    To force the rudder trim value into an integer range, the FsVariable values can be multiplied by 1000.
    The easiest is to edit the ini file containing the fs2phidget rudder trim settings.
    File is usually named something like FsVariable999.ini, but edit the file you have been using.

    Edit the file with notepad.
    Other text editors such as Wordpad and MS-Word write hidden formatting characters that screw up basic text files.
    After opening file with Notepad, do a find on rudder_trim (note the underscore).
    Change Multiplier value to 1000.
    Move decimal point two places to the right for both HiValue and LoValue, so that they look like example below.
    Save and close file.

    Fire up Fs2Phidget and you should be able to calibrate the servo.

    [RUDDER_TRIM]
    Offset=2EC0
    Length=8
    FSType=Proportional
    LoValue=-174.53292
    HiValue=174.53292
    Multiplier=1000
    Divisor=1
    Integer=False
    NormalizeAngle=False
    WriteOnly=False
    Format=###########
    LogicVar=False
    FunctionVar=False
    IRS=False
    Enable=True
    Internal=False

    Regards,
    Alan

  8. #8
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem using Advanced Servo Phidget with FS2Phidget5

    You should also download latest version 4.3.86 from this website.
    Just replace your existing exe with downloaded one.
    Looks like you have latest driver.
    Latest version will indicate on the main screen if version is an issue.