Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member lasseh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    36
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Very small rotary encoders

    Hello.

    Anyone out there know a good place to buy very small rotary encoders? The reason why they're gonna be small is that they'll be placed between a panel and a monitor.
    It's for heading, alt etc.

    Thanks,
    Lasse

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site


  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Very small rotary encoders

    Hi Lasse

    Which interface hardware are you going to use?
    I have some experience with OpenCockpit (OC) and in this case you
    can try the small mechanical encoders you'll often find in a PC mouse.
    You'll need the Encoder II board from OC though and a special firmware.
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Very small rotary encoders

    Quote Originally Posted by lasse_hvass View Post
    Anyone out there know a good place to buy very small rotary encoders? The reason why they're gonna be small is that they'll be placed between a panel and a monitor.
    I used these for just such a purpose:

    http://www.conrad.com/Encoder-STEC12...699&ireusocl=1

    They are very good. Work very well with Leo Bodnar BU0836 boards once you set the mode using Leo-s utility for encoders.

    Regards
    Pete

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member lasseh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    36
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Very small rotary encoders

    Thanks for the replies.

    Per-Erik - I'm using the BUO836X card for inputs, so I think I'll give it a go with Peter's suggestion.

    Good day!
    Lasse

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    211
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Very small rotary encoders

    For the Danes, Norwegians and even the Swedes:

    Sjekk ut www.elfa.se. Utrolig mye finne der. Hva med flytte skjermen littegrann bakover slik at du fr litt mer rom mellom skjermen og panelet? Da er det lettere f plass, og du fr faktisk litt mer realisme. "Dybde" i klokkene.

    Good luck mate!

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Very small rotary encoders

    Lasse,

    Good move!

    The one Peter is referring to comes ready with a shaft and seems to
    have quite the same specification as the one you'll find in a PC mouse
    except for cycles pr. detent. PC mouse usually have cycle while
    this one has full cycle.

    The size looks the same as well, but not the cost

    I think I've "killed" >80 PC mice to get hold of as many
    encoders and micro-switches as possible to bring the cost down...
    (I have access to a electronic junk yard)

    Encoders go in where necessary and two micro-switches go into every Korry 433 switch.
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net