Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Alien read out

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unhappy Alien read out

    I have two Open Cockpit display cards, one off them make some thing that looks like alien numbers.
    The strange thing is that number 8 read out is fine, but some other numbers misses a segment.
    I have tryet to rename the card number from 2 to 3, but with same result.

    See pictures: Here 88888 and 12344



    Sincerely,

    Claus


  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Alien read out

    Claus

    If I understand correctly then one display card works perfectly with the above panel, but the other one produces the faults shown on your post. That tells me that your Mastercard, Expansion card and interconnecting cables are working ok. Also, given that the faulty card displays "8" ok, then suspicion must fall upon its PIC. To confirm this you could try swopping the PIC onto the other display card and see if the fault moves with it

    David

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Alien read out

    Quote Originally Posted by fordgt40 View Post
    Claus

    If I understand correctly then one display card works perfectly with the above panel, but the other one produces the faults shown on your post. That tells me that your Mastercard, Expansion card and interconnecting cables are working ok. Also, given that the faulty card displays "8" ok, then suspicion must fall upon its PIC. To confirm this you could try swopping the PIC onto the other display card and see if the fault moves with it

    David

    Thanks David

    You have understood my explanation correctly.

    PCB IC number one is: PIC16F876 CMOS FLASH Microcontrollers
    Flach CMOS does that mean it is programmed to a specific task by Open Cockpit, and if this chip is faulty, then I have to buy a new one from the Open Cockpit store.

    I'll try to swap the chip and see if the fault moves over to the other display card.
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Alien read out

    Claus,

    I don't know how much you have to pay to get the spare PIC up from Spain, but you should
    consider getting a PIC programmer ($14 and free shipping) like this one:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/PIC-MCU-JDM-...item3a6332d7da
    Then you could first try to reprogram the current PIC or get one from your local store.
    The PIC code is downloadable or you can copy from the one you have which is OK.

    Anyway - I'm not sure if it's the PIC which is broken. Those usualley work or not work at all,
    but you never know. Look around on the pcb for short circuit or bad soldering first.
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Alien read out

    Now I finally got some time to try out what David suggested, which was to swap the PIC chip.
    Voila ... the error disappeared completely on both cards.
    My conclusion tion may be that there has been a bad connection in the ic socket.
    My PCB has been in storage for over 2 years and it's only now I get them mounted.
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Alien read out

    Claus

    Glad you solved it

    Regards

    David

Tags for this Thread