Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member matta757's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question on FS2Phidgets and Phidgets DC controller

    Hi Guys,

    I am trying to motorize my TQ for my 757. I was originally going to use the Opencockpits DC motor card, but find SIOC and all the documentation very confusing. FS2Phidgets seems like a much easier program to work with, so to me the convenience justifies spending more on the DC card.

    So before I make any purchases, I did some reading in the FS2Phidgets manual. I think I have a basic understanding. But I need to know if what I am trying to do will actually work before I spend the money.

    I currently have my throttles connected to the Leo Bodnar BUO836X card. I am wondering if I can use the output/calibration from this card as the sensor for FS2Phidgets for the throttle position? I know that there are offsets in FSUIPC for throttle position after calibration but BEFORE being applied to the simulation. Can these offsets be used to tell FS2Phidgets what the position of the levers is and then the DC controller move the throttles to the correct position? Does that make sense?

    I would love if someone could answer this basic question of will it work? That's all I need to know right now. I don't need help writing the circuit yet, just want to know if it will work before I make the investment. Thanks guys.

    Best regards,
    Matt Armstrong

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question on FS2Phidgets and Phidgets DC controller

    I would love if someone could answer this basic question of will it work? That's all


    Hi there, basically..no.
    the situation you described would alow you to move the throttle and then have the servo move the throttle to the same place? But you want the throttle servo to do the work when you are in autothrottle mode and your hands off the lever.
    the way FS works is the throttle position sensor is unhooked when in AUTO and the position for the N1 is set by FS and then you simply tell phidgets to follow the FS position and move the throttles to the same place.
    so there is no feedback loop like the real plane where the throttle position is calculated by the FMC and then uses the throttle servo motors to set the N1 for the engines.
    the flight sim way just "simulates" no pun intended this action

    i have mine working so ask more and I will help.

    Andy

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member matta757's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question on FS2Phidgets and Phidgets DC controller

    Hi Andy,

    I am not using servos. I would be using the Phidgets DC motor controller. So what FS2Phidgets needs to know is the position of the motor.

    So this would allow for manual manipulation when the A/T is DISCONNECTED, but when the A/T is connected, the Phidgets card needs to know the position of the throttle levers. So can the offsets in FSUIPC be used to tell the Phidgets what the lever position is?

    Matt

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question on FS2Phidgets and Phidgets DC controller

    Hi, well that is different. I assumed, my bad. I must admit I don't know. But fs2phidgets should be able to do this. and I don't see why it would matter where the input comes from, be it a phidgets card or FSUIPC input. But...dont know.

    Alan knows...

    Andy

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member matta757's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question on FS2Phidgets and Phidgets DC controller

    Alan- if you have a chance, I would love for you to weigh in on this! Thanks in advance...

    Matt

Similar Threads

  1. midi controller ?
    By 360kal in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2011, 06:47 AM
  2. Working version of FS2Phidgets and phidgets.msi?
    By stefanloss in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2008, 03:14 PM
  3. One bad day for the ATC controller
    By SAS884 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-28-2007, 07:04 AM
  4. Quick question with FS2Phidgets
    By Chris97b in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2005, 09:21 PM
  5. Phidgets 4 servo controller
    By Skydvdan in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-05-2004, 02:50 AM