Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    warwick UK
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    fsx 737-800 engine start

    sorry if this is duplicate - someone point me if necessary - have looked without success
    fsx- fsuipc4 default 737-800
    simple issue - have programmed several single action switches ok in SIOC with O/C

    I wish to start engine 1
    have programmed switch and on result i set $0892 TO 2 (AND ALSO tried 1) I also set $0390 to 1 the start valve shows open in the ecam and engine starts to spool but the 'master starter switch' below the throttle doesn't move. When I move this switch with the engine spooliing - it immediately picks up - what am i missing
    Tks in advance - Mike

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: fsx 737-800 engine start

    Quote Originally Posted by UKV1342 View Post
    have programmed switch and on result i set $0892 TO 2 (AND ALSO tried 1) I also set $0390 to 1 the start valve shows open in the ecam
    0390 is not a supported offset. It does nothing. Maybe you mean 3590? In any case on a 737 you don't open that valve yourself, it opens automatically with the starter switch.

    and engine starts to spool but the 'master starter switch' below the throttle doesn't move. When I move this switch with the engine spooliing - it immediately picks up - what am i missing
    Moving the start lever from "cut off" to "idle" when the engine spooling speed is high enough (20-25% on a B737NG) is the correct way to start a jet -- that introduces the fuel at the right time. This is not automatic. Have you not tried flying a jet in FS before? I'm sure it is documented in the kneeboards or FS help.

    The starter levers are operated by the Mixture controls, controlling fuel flow as they do for a prop. Mixture lean = cutoff, mixture rich = idle. That is what the FS documented start procedure uses -- Ctrl+Shift+F1 for cut off, Ctrl+Shift+F4 for idle, with default assignments. I think it's been this way in FS for many many years -- at least back to FS4 that I recall.

    To kill the engines you cut the fuel using the Mixture Lean control, cutting off the fuel.

    Regards
    Pete

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    warwick UK
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: fsx 737-800 engine start

    THanks for the lightning reply - yes have flown jets for years but always used mouse pointers - just getting into the cockpit build and using fsuipc and its tools - great help btw. - will investigate the engine mixture

Similar Threads

  1. Engine Start Switches
    By gokhotit in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-07-2010, 12:39 PM
  2. engine start switches
    By Steve A in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 01:05 AM
  3. engine start
    By Mac in forum MyCockpit Member Meetings
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 07:36 AM
  4. Engine start
    By sas550 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 03:12 PM
  5. Engine start
    By 3202b in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2007, 06:33 AM