Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Master card inoperative

    I have 2 mastercards i built from kits, when i plug them into my usb expansion card and run the controlador software, all inputs from 000 to 070 show active. I have double checked for shorts, bad solder joints, and anything out of normal. All on both look good. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    Hello..there.

    What's the status of the USB card on the Controlador panel: "USB not found" or "IOCardUSB running"?
    Your symptoms suggest that the USB card is not being seen.

    Jim.

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    Hi
    Are all diodes mounted in the correct direction.
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    They are mounted per the pictures as their schematic is not standard. The software, USBCk, SIOC, and controlador all see the usb exp. card and it shows USB running. Very frustrating and confusing. I went over all the solder joints again and inspected with a magnifying glass. I'm sure it is something simple since 2 seperate cards are doing the exact same thing.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    Are you applying 5 volts DC to the mastercard? It must be powered and gets power from a 5 VDC source on the 2-pin connector lableled J0.


    Buddy

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    Yes, also verified each IC is getting 4.98V

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    Hi Jim,

    I certainly do apologize for asking dumb questions, but as a support engineer it's my nature.... I agree with you that if 2 cards are doing the same thing then it is prob something simple, or at least obvious..but not. When you run the controllador program do the axis pins fluctuate if you touch them with your fingers? If so then this at least verifies that not only does the USB controller in the PC see the USB exp card, but it is actually communicating with it as a USB device. The way USB works it is possible for the PC to detect the USB device connected and not communicate with is.. This is because the USB device is "sensed" by voltage level changes on the D+ and D- pins on the USB interface. Pullup resistor causes the detection.

    I suspect that the USB exp card is operating ok, as you would most likely get "unrecognized USB device" if the interface and microprocessor were not connected and operating properly. This leaves us with the connection to the master card(s)..

    Is the mastercard connected directly to the SUB exp card, or is a db25 cable being used? if cable then is it a true straight-through cable?

    Racking my brain here to try and get a grip on the main symptom... all pins high.... Again, going back to the dumb questions, when you are looking at the controllador program, is the mastercard connected and that's it? Or is a breakout board connected to one or more of the IDC headers on the MC? Do the inputs go inactive if you disconnect the MC from the USB exp card?

    Buddy

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    Thanks for the help. Yes, the axis inputs change when i touch them with my fingers. No cable used, hooked directly to usb ex. card. No inputs or outputs hooked to anything. INputs go away on software when i disconnect master from usb ex card. Very perplexing and made worse without good schematics.

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    Just tried to test the output side of the master card. Hit the ALL-ON button on the controller software, grabbed my Fluke and tested all the pins on the J2 40pin connector. Nothing! All i have is the pin 1 and 2 5vdc as it supposed to. So, i have a serious comm issue here. Im guessing??

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card inoperative

    I've been trying to fathom why inputs 0-70 are active (low) and not input #71. The only way I've been able to reproduce that here is by disconnecting the USB; but, it does seem like your USB is running O.K. You're not likely to have the last diode reversed on both cards.

    Jim

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. IO Cards Problem setting up Display Card on Master Card
    By Barrykensett in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2009, 02:30 PM
  2. Master Card: Is it working?
    By jmig in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 08:59 AM
  3. Some help for Master card
    By cesarfsim in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-01-2008, 04:08 AM
  4. Build The Master Card
    By Gaspode in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-02-2007, 12:46 AM
  5. LED:s to master card
    By Jouni in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2006, 09:29 PM