Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Hi All

    I have had great success with a multi monitor setup, however, when i change views from 3D to 2D and back I get mouse flickers like something is continually processing in the background. Any ideas how to fix this??

    ALSO, once my cockpit is built I want to remove the cockpit all together i I tried going to 2D and then removing the cockpit panel BUT again i get mouse flickers and I can't make the 2D (without panel) fill the 3 screens.

    Any assistance will help.

    I guess once my pit is complete i could edit out the panel file but till then - any ideas?

    Thanks.

    Sean

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Ok i found a fix if anyone is interested

    These are the steps to take to fix the issue with the 2D main panel window not showing up on triple-wide resolutions, which causes extreme performance drops and the windows 'wait' cursor to remain active.

    1) Open the Panel folder for the aircraft you wish to fix.

    2) Make a backup copy of your panel.cfg file, in case anything goes wrong.

    3) Open the Panel.cfg file in notepad.

    4) Scroll down to the [window00] section. (This is *usually* the main panel window.)

    5) Change the line:

    window_size= 1.000, 0.874

    to:

    window_size= 0.333, 0.874


    6) Comment out the following line:

    window_pos= 0.000, 0.120

    When commented out, the line should look like this:

    // window_pos= 0.000, 0.120

    7) Save the file.

    If you DON'T find window_size= x.xxx, x.xxx in your cgf file then add it.


  3. Thanks vyper883 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    41
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Excellent work!
    I've been looking for the solution to the 2D cockpit problem mouse/hourglass flicker with a TH2GO, for three years now! Will this resize all 2d panels? For instance, when I bring up the GPS(or any other 2D panel) it is streched to far horizontally- Not a big issue as you can drag and resize. Still though a little annoying. Many thanks, I'm going to try it when I get home tonight
    VYPER883

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Quote Originally Posted by vyper883 View Post
    Excellent work!
    I've been looking for the solution to the 2D cockpit problem mouse/hourglass flicker with a TH2GO, for three years now! Will this resize all 2d panels? For instance, when I bring up the GPS(or any other 2D panel) it is streched to far horizontally- Not a big issue as you can drag and resize. Still though a little annoying. Many thanks, I'm going to try it when I get home tonight
    Hey vyper, this will typically work for the "panel" width which is actually what causes the issue i found. Give it a shot though.

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    41
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Wait a minute....
    Is this fix for FS9? FSX panel cfg window entries are a bit different. Instead of window_size, it just says "size". Here is the whole entry under window 00:

    [Window00]
    file_1024=747_Background_1024.bmp
    size_mm=640
    position=7
    visible=1
    ident=MAIN_PANEL

    Now, I tried the same trick- I divided 640 by 3 and came up with 213.3333. I just rounded it off and inserted 213, and then commented out position=7. Guess what? No go. There must be another way for FSX.
    VYPER883

  7. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Quote Originally Posted by vyper883 View Post
    Wait a minute....
    Is this fix for FS9? FSX panel cfg window entries are a bit different. Instead of window_size, it just says "size". Here is the whole entry under window 00:

    [Window00]
    file_1024=747_Background_1024.bmp
    size_mm=640
    position=7
    visible=1
    ident=MAIN_PANEL

    Now, I tried the same trick- I divided 640 by 3 and came up with 213.3333. I just rounded it off and inserted 213, and then commented out position=7. Guess what? No go. There must be another way for FSX.
    put in the "window_size= 0.333, 0.874" line. It may not be there on some planes and it may on others but just add it in. play with the last number as you see fit. I am using 3 monitors. If you have 2 perhaps change the first entry from 0.333 to 0.50 if you have the issue with 2 monitors so basically 0.333 of the panel will fit on each screen if that makes sense

  8. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    41
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Yes I have three monitors. Does it matter where I insert this line in the window 00 section? I'll give it a try tomorrow, as I'm done simming for the day. Just to confirm though, this is for fsx right? Cheers.
    VYPER883

  9. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Quote Originally Posted by vyper883 View Post
    Yes I have three monitors. Does it matter where I insert this line in the window 00 section? I'll give it a try tomorrow, as I'm done simming for the day. Just to confirm though, this is for fsx right? Cheers.
    No - it doesn't matter where you place the line

  10. Thanks vyper883 thanked for this post
  11. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    41
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Ok thanks. I'll try it later on after work. Cheers
    VYPER883

  12. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    41
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Getting rid of mouse flickers and cockpits!! problem!!

    Hmm...ok...

    It works.....partially. With this cfg edit, the 2D panel appears normally in the center monitor, but the mouse pointer still flickers to hourglass. The two outer monitors still have the bottom half of the screen blacked out. The aircraft I tested with is the default FSX 747. Maybe other aircraft yield better results? What birds have you tested on?
    VYPER883

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Nav Display flickers and crashes
    By Hans Krohn in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-26-2010, 03:42 PM
  2. FSUIPC Mouse Macro problem w/ BU0836X
    By hladamjr in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 10:33 AM
  3. Turning an 8 way into a mouse
    By jmig in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-06-2008, 10:46 PM
  4. mouse cursor
    By super80 in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-03-2008, 11:09 AM
  5. Where's your keyboard & mouse?
    By Kennair in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 04:37 PM