Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Sol7 question

  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sol7 question

    Hi

    I'm trying to get Sol7 (demo) working, but with a little difficulty.

    I can't get it to output the test pattern to the TH2G/projectors. I've got a TFT on one VGA card output, the TH2G on the other. When I run the software, I select Triple Head and click configure. The test pattern is sent to the TFT. If I set the TH2G as the main display, it still sends the test pattern to the TFT. If I unplug the TFT, I cannot then select Triple Head (or Dual Head). It stays put on Single Head, and clicking the Configure button does nothing at all.

    Any ideas?

    Sean

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sol7 question

    Sorted it.

    I swapped the TFT and TH2G on the VGA card, making the TH2G monitor 1.

    The option to select Triple Head in the Sol7 setting still wasn't available straight away, but I could select Dual Head. Anyway, after playing around with that for a while (not ideal), the option to select Triple Head just started working of it's own accord. Strange, but it's all working now.

    Think it's only right to give the software (Sol7) some credit here. It does exactly what it's designed for with the minimum of effort (even with a NOOB like me in charge). The results are outstanding. Thanks to Immersaview for making the home version available.

    Sean

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sol7 question

    Sean, i have this problem too but its not ideal for me to start swapping my vga cables around as i have 7 displays all together on the one system and the positioning of the pc tower and cabling would be a nightmare. I did try and swap 2 outputs and got the chequer board up on the dualhead projectors but it messed everything else up. All the other screens went crazy with wrong resolutions and as i use the pc for other stuff i need the monitor on my desk as the number 1 main display. The taskbar went off on a tangent and i couldnt find it lol. Any idea if thee is a work-a-round or short cut key to move the chequer board from one display to another.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sol7 question

    Hi Steve

    Unfortunately, Sol7 only works on the display no.1 output of the VGA vard it's attached too (the one which displays the big number 1 when you click Identify in Windows display settings). But you can set the monitor attached to the number 2 output as the main monitor in the same settings window. In XP, select the number 2 monitor graphic, and the option to "Use this device as the primary monitor" is activated. Just check the box.

    Not sure why your other displays went haywire! What's your configuration?

    Have you tried the new Nthusim software yet? That may be different.

    Sean

  5. Thanks Steve A thanked for this post
  6. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sol7 question

    Thanks Sean, What i am trying to avoid is having the Beamers as primary displays as i dont switch them on unless im flying. Im gonna try what you have said and check back.
    I only just got the demo for sol7 so haven't been invited to try nthusim yet. As for my configuration..... its a nightmare lol
    Main Computer
    Main display for ordinary tasks and computing 24" lcd 1920x1200 (sometimes use this for right side view)
    Capt and Fo displays on splitter 2 x 17" lcd 1280x1024
    Outside visuals on 2 projectors thru dualhead2go1280x1024 (doubled)
    Atc and cdu on 14" lcd 1024x768
    El cheapo 2nd computer
    Freefd Eicas and standby gauges 17" lcd 1280x1024
    Moving map on 14" lcd 1024x768
    Phew

Similar Threads

  1. Sol7 or NTHUSIM
    By Jan Pemöller in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-11-2013, 10:21 AM
  2. SOL7 Question
    By jmig in forum Projector Solutions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 12:41 AM
  3. Sol7/FS2002
    By Melnato in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2008, 12:41 AM
  4. Basic Sol7 question.
    By 737aqua in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2008, 10:24 PM
  5. PRESS RELEASE - ImmersaView - Sol7
    By Matt Olieman in forum MyCockpit News and Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2008, 11:49 PM