Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Beginning to Build !!! Captain_Eirik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    INS system modelling

    I have a model of a DC-10 that doesn't use a flight computer but does use an inertial navigation system as the originals would. I am wondering if anyone has built a INS module for their sim.

    If so, would you be willing to share some insight into what I would be facing if I wanted to try and build one myself?

  2. #2
    Programmer



    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain_Eirik View Post
    I have a model of a DC-10 that doesn't use a flight computer but does use an inertial navigation system as the originals would. I am wondering if anyone has built a INS module for their sim.

    If so, would you be willing to share some insight into what I would be facing if I wanted to try and build one myself?
    I'm not sure if you are referring to physical or software modeling of the INS unit. In our 737 cockpit there is an IRS system on the aft overhead panel. Physically, it is simply some LED's and selector switches. The software I wrote for it, models the behavior of the unit.

    There are two drift layers involved:
    - The first layer drifts the speed and attitude that the unit perceives. In the 737 this drift can be removed in the air with a quick alignment procedure.
    - The second layer takes that perceived speed and attitude and calculates a position based on this. This drift can only be removed by a full alignment on the ground.

    You simply let the code run and let the drift accumulate. Some fine-tuning is needed to get accurate drift numbers. Unfortunately, all PFD/ND packages available take their attitude and position info directly from FS, so at the moment there is no way to mess this up through the IRS.

  3. #3
    Beginning to Build !!! Captain_Eirik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    Oh, might have been nice to have been more specific huh? I think that the software end on that model is covered. I think I'm looking at the hardware side. I found a place that sells numeric keypads so that is an option I guess. But it wouldn't have the LED numeric display.

  4. #4
    Programmer



    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain_Eirik View Post
    Oh, might have been nice to have been more specific huh? I think that the software end on that model is covered. I think I'm looking at the hardware side. I found a place that sells numeric keypads so that is an option I guess. But it wouldn't have the LED numeric display.
    We used a phidgets text LCD, but there are a lot of custom LED displays.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain_Eirik View Post
    Oh, might have been nice to have been more specific huh? I think that the software end on that model is covered. I think I'm looking at the hardware side. I found a place that sells numeric keypads so that is an option I guess. But it wouldn't have the LED numeric display.
    why dont you get a real INS unit on ebay ?

    They sell on a regular base for around 50$

    Rip out all original electronics and replace them with a sim interface solution.

    Does the software ins unit you use fsuipc offsets for easy interfacing ?

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  6. Thanks Captain_Eirik thanked for this post
  7. #6
    Beginning to Build !!! Captain_Eirik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    I had not thought of that actually. Honestly it hadn't even occurred to me that such a thing would even show up.

    I guess I should start haunting ebay for things like that.

    I believe that this would interface by fsuipc fairly easily.

  8. #7
    75+ Posting Member TobiBS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    Their is another alternative beside ebay: http://www.angelfire.com/il2/aphs/forsale/forsale.html

    Right now they have several INS panels:

    http://www.angelfire.com/il2/aphs/msu.jpg (For integrated solutions)
    http://www.angelfire.com/il2/aphs/aero.jpg (Classic INS)
    http://www.angelfire.com/il2/aphs/litton.jpg (Modern pre-FMC INS)

  9. #8
    Beginning to Build !!! Captain_Eirik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    That site is getting bookmarked! Thank you very much

  10. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Channelview, TX
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    As a 727 Captain, I use my INS all the time. For the software side, see http://www.simufly.com/ins/

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: INS system modelling

    There's one ending on ebay today:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...K%3AMEWAX%3AIT


    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pm system 124
    By explora in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 10:22 AM
  2. system
    By Mr. Midnight in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2008, 12:17 PM
  3. System review please
    By Michael Carter in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 07:17 PM
  4. Pulley system
    By Radar in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 09-25-2007, 08:01 PM
  5. Chelton System
    By spitfire9 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-30-2007, 04:10 PM