Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wiring up an overhead

    Hey all, does anyone have a thread or tutorial on how to make, wire up an overhead panel, particularly for the 767?

    Drewsta

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    402
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wiring up an overhead

    You could always do what I am doing for the 737. At a later stage we are going to go for a full size overhead but for now, as it is not at the top of the priority list so in the mean while we are building a 1/4 scale overhead.

    1. Get a good quality image of the overhead you want to build, in your case a 767.

    2. Print it and stick it on to a backing material, like a sheet of perspex or thin wood.

    3. Drill holes for all the annunciators and switches.

    4. Put in all the switches and push LEDS through the board from the rear for your annunciators, it is a lot easier to solder wires onto both the switches and annunciators before you push them through the board.

    5. Once you've done that you can hook everything up to your I/O hardware, like for example OpenCockpits cards or FS Bus.

    My thread and pics are HERE.

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wiring up an overhead

    Thanks Capt I've already started that approach and will have it finished before too long. Any output card you would recommend other than Open cockpits?

    Drewsta

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wiring up an overhead

    I have done mine the same using a leo bodnar bu0836x card. I'm not to sure about getting the led's to work though and obviously im limited to the amount of switches so i have only wired the essentials at the moment.

    Its a brilliant idea for an interim overhead until things get more serious (and expensive) lol

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    402
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wiring up an overhead

    I have both cards and they are both excellent cards, but the OC card is more suited to an overhead because of it's inputs and outputs. I am going to be using a mixtyre of cards but my overhead will be an OC card (or two of them)

Similar Threads

  1. help ref wiring
    By BishBash in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 08:06 PM
  2. Need a wee bit of help wiring....
    By Crescent in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 02:37 AM
  3. wiring
    By phil. in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-15-2008, 04:38 AM
  4. Wiring setup for overhead
    By ozziesim in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-02-2008, 01:58 PM