Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43
  1. #1
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    A340 Throttle quadrant project

    Hi all,
    Work is progressing well on the A340 throttle quad project and here are the first pics. Feel free to copy my design work, it should be suitable for B747, B767, A380 throttle quads. This will be the last handcut TQ I make, my new CNC arrives this week!!!


















    Gwyn Perrett

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  2. #2
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    WOW!! Very nice congrats!!! Amazing craftsmanship!!

    Regards,

    Roberto

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member totalflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Keswick, ON
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    Gwyn just amazing. I love the real look of them. I will have to try and do a little duplication and see if I can get a set made for my self. Excellent work.

    Just one question? Is it acrylic that you used for the parts?

    Thanks,

    Jeff
    Last edited by Westozy; 11-09-2009 at 01:53 AM.
    Jeff Carswell
    A330-343x

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66GHz
    4GB OCZ DDR2 PC1066 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L MB
    NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTO 512mb

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    Quote Originally Posted by totalflyer View Post
    Gwyn just amazing. I love the real look of them. I will have to try and do a little duplication and see if I can get a set made for my self. Excellent work.

    Just one question? Is it acrylic that you used for the parts?

    Thanks,

    Jeff
    Hi Jeff,
    I use 6mm PVC sheeting called "Trovidur", it's quite easy to machine and work with. It's really quite heavy so the finished parts have a real solid feel about them. I use Loctite 424 to glue parts together, it goes off in seconds and produces a very strong weld. All of these parts were made with a bandsaw, a router, a drill press and a Dremel. (Oh and the lathe for the knobs!) I cut my patterns from 3mm aluminium and then use a laminex trimmer tool in the router to reproduce the shapes, this keeps the top parts of the 12 main lever pieces the same size and shape.

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  5. Thanks totalflyer thanked for this post
  6. #5
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    Quote Originally Posted by dodiano View Post
    WOW!! Very nice congrats!!! Amazing craftsmanship!!

    Regards,

    Roberto
    Thanks mate, don't tell anyone I'm buying a throttle from you lol!!!!!

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    654
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    Your the King of throttles Gwyn!

    Joe

  8. #7
    25+ Posting Member totalflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Keswick, ON
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    Just wondering when you go to connect them how are you going to do it?
    Will they be USB or through another form of connection?
    Jeff Carswell
    A330-343x

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66GHz
    4GB OCZ DDR2 PC1066 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L MB
    NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTO 512mb

  9. #8
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    Quote Originally Posted by totalflyer View Post
    Just wondering when you go to connect them how are you going to do it?
    Will they be USB or through another form of connection?
    I supply my throttles with all the potentiometer drives and switches in place with wiring to terminal blocks. Typically I aim for driving the lever pots through about 240 degrees, this gives a smooth span which is easy to calibrate. (I have only ever used FDT Simboards and they have given me 3 years of excellent performance in my sim). The end user can hook my TQ's up to Open Cockpit/BUO386/SimBoards whatever interface they like just using a small screwdriver. I don't really make plug'n'play because the electronics is a it out of my field. Mechanically my TQs are built tough and should provide years of trouble free service. I use PVC, aluminium and stailnless steel in construction, there are no parts that can corrode. The Spitfire flight controls I made for member "Tony Hill" were plug'n'play because I used a hacked Microsoft Sidewinder joystick for interface, we had a good 2 or 3 hours "testing" them, it worked a treat! It's pretty easy to do for single engine sims.


    This is the pot drive on my A320TQ design


    Gwyn
    Last edited by Westozy; 11-10-2009 at 05:56 AM.

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  10. #9
    75+ Posting Member Stijn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    85
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    Really nice,

    I'm working on my 727 quad also.
    amazing work really like those levers.

    Stijn

  11. #10
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A340 Throttle quadrant project

    More progress pics!!!







    Regards, Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  12. Thanks Joe Cygan, Matt Olieman thanked for this post
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Airbus A320/A340 motorised throtle quadrant
    By Bartlomiej in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-06-2011, 05:45 AM
  2. A340 throttle quadrant reload
    By Bartlomiej in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 06:42 PM
  3. A340 throttle quadrant reload
    By Bartlomiej in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-25-2010, 07:46 PM
  4. MD-83 Throttle Quadrant, Boeing 737-300 Throttle Quadrant
    By Chaser in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 08:10 PM
  5. Announcing new product!!! - A340 throttle quadrant
    By Westozy in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 02:49 AM