Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PSS interface.

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Jake 747 400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PSS interface.

    Hey everyone. Due to the fact that pmdg is "almost" impossible to interface. I got PSS 747-400 for fs2004. Does anyone know if this is just as bad or can this be interfaced using the I/O cards etc.
    Thanks,
    Jake.
    Boeing 744ever jakes747sim.webs.com

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member MartinK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PSS interface.

    Hi Jake,

    Don't know about PSS but you may want to look into this:

    http://www.aerowinx.com/

    This is what I'm waiting on, fed up with PMDG's stupid policy.

    Cheers,

    Martin
    2.6 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 3 GB Mem ATI HD 3650
    Vista/FS9.1/PMDG747/UTEurope/MEGAX Frankfurt/Cloud9 EHAM

    Flying is easy: move the stick forward - houses get bigger. Pull the stick back - houses get smaller again

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member hyway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney,Australia
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PSS interface.

    http://aerowinx.com/forum/topic.php?id=30

    Some sneak peek shots here
    PSX due out end of 2010, it will blow your mind and will be fully homebuilt compliant.
    Matthew Sheil
    747 Simulator
    http://www.747simulator.com.au

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie Jake 747 400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PSS interface.

    Thanks Martin and Matt.
    This is amazing, so whats it like on system spec, on one of the pics I saw 100 frame/sec. Thats fantastic, I mean does it need much ram-good graphics card etc.
    Also one other question, does it run of the microsoft flight sim or is it a stand alone system?

    Thanks again,
    Jake.
    Last edited by Jake 747 400; 10-23-2009 at 09:32 AM.
    Boeing 744ever jakes747sim.webs.com

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member hyway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney,Australia
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PSS interface.

    PSX is stand alone, will run on MAC, Microsoft, Lynix and is a JAVA application
    It will be worth the wait late 2010 early 2011 and will set the benchmark for all new Sims for the next 10 years.
    It is a homebuilders dream, so if you are thinking of building a sim, it better be a 747-400 or 747-400ER because PSX will leave the rest behind in 2 years time.
    Matthew Sheil
    747 Simulator
    http://www.747simulator.com.au

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member MartinK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PSS interface.

    Hi Jake,

    Matt is right, this is a cockpitbuilders dream!!!

    I have been running both previous versions (PS1.2 and PS1.3) and they are so easy to interface with. Just have a read on the forum and you will see for yourself. PSX will absolutely replace my current PMDG747 once it gets out.
    Don't throw away your FS cause you are going to need it for outside views but this is very easy to do.

    Cheers,

    Martin
    2.6 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 3 GB Mem ATI HD 3650
    Vista/FS9.1/PMDG747/UTEurope/MEGAX Frankfurt/Cloud9 EHAM

    Flying is easy: move the stick forward - houses get bigger. Pull the stick back - houses get smaller again

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PSS interface.

    Only just seen this thread...

    I have PS1.3 and really want to start building now instead of waiting for PSX.

    What would be the reccomended interfacing for PSX and would this work with PS1.3 in the meantime?

    Any help would be truly appreciated!

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member MartinK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PSS interface.

    There is a Forum dedicated to PS and PSX

    http://aerowinx.com/forum/forum.php?id=1


    Just post your question there and see if you get a reply (if so, please forward it on to this Forum).

    Cheers,

    Martin
    2.6 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 3 GB Mem ATI HD 3650
    Vista/FS9.1/PMDG747/UTEurope/MEGAX Frankfurt/Cloud9 EHAM

    Flying is easy: move the stick forward - houses get bigger. Pull the stick back - houses get smaller again

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PSS interface.

    Answer from Jeroen on the Aerowinx forum:

    The simple answer is that there will be no compatibility between PS1 and PSX.

    PS1, in a sense, was only compatible with standard analog joysticks, a keyboard, a mouse, and the Aerosoft Australia MCP/EFIS/EICAS combo. Everything else was hacked on top of it using various mechanisms.

    PSX likely will support USB joysticks, mouse, and keyboard (and touch screen when done by the OS). However it is being designed with hardware interfacing in mind. There is one common thin simple standard interface into everything that hardware would want to control or look at, and this interface can be used by every programming language I know of. It is based on TCP sockets and ASCII streams, so really simple.

    Now, PS1+Broker and PSX share much of the same network philosophy, so if you build your own hardware drivers that talk socket, it should be relatively straightforward to port them from PS1 to PSX.

    Several hardware vendors have indicated their interest in developing the base driver for PSX. On top of this (thin) layer of standard software, the rest is plain configuration. Number --> number.

Similar Threads

  1. How to interface?
    By Jordan Farmer in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 02:34 PM
  2. Interface?
    By abrinson in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 06:29 PM
  3. What Interface are you using or going to use?
    By Trevor Hale in forum MyCockpit Polls
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 03-13-2007, 01:05 AM
  4. interface
    By Rob Archer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-13-2004, 12:22 PM