Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Progress at last - just not a lot of it!

    Well guys, I've been looking forward to posting in this part of the forum for ages! It seems like a long time since I joined the forum and even longer since I started bleating on about building a cockpit. Well this weekend I hit the MDF and produced. . . something! It's supposed to be my FCU panel and both sides of the EFIS for my Airbus. I have not painted them yet. The other thing is the 7 segment display - I'm still wondering about that. It will probably be Opencockpits kit when I get around to buying it. And figuring out how it works. Here's how it looks:

    FCU Front


    FCU Rear


    FCU End View


    Captain's EFIS


    As with all things in this hobby, I've had to compromise. Sourcing push/pull rotaries has been more or less impossible (80 is too much for ONE!) so I've added little toggle switches to simulate the 'pull' option. These rotaries have a push switch on them already (nod of thanks to Ian Sisson). There are a couple of other switches to add for the speed/mach etc.

    I'm pleased - hope they look better when painted! And it's a start! Hope there's more progress soon...

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  2. Thanks Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  3. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Very good job. Clean and functional. Scratch building is not dead yet.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #3
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Carter View Post
    Very good job. Clean and functional. Scratch building is not dead yet.
    I agree with Mike Nice job!!!

    Thanks for the pics.

    Matt Olieman

  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nice job Nigel! I feel your pain as far as slow progress..

    I see you have what look to be the encoders and knobs from the guy on ebay... I bought that same lot. I tested these last night with Leo's new card, and running the little program that let's you hook up the encoders. It worked great, very smooth tuning on the radios with them. If these are the same ones I have they didn't work with the OC mastercard. They work smoothly with the Bodnar card though, so did the dual encoder I purchased from cockpitsonicusa.


    Cheers!

    BuddyM

  6. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie pdpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    280
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Nigel,

    a good start....
    but you mention that you will add the 7-segments still to it. In another post you also mentioned that you are using wilco airbus.
    We tried to explain that it will not be possible (as far as I know) to drive those 7segments
    from wilco airbus since this addon does not keep his values for the fcu in memory where peter dowson (FSUIPC) can read. So these values are not available for reading by opencockpits software, hence not on the hardware.
    In order to fill your fcu digits, opencockpits can only base itself on values present in fsuipc offsets or on values derived from values in fsuipc offsets. The standard FS autopilot has his values in fsuipc. Therefor you need an addon which writes his internal values in fsuipc offsets, like project magenta, AST for airbus. PSS does not so that, wilco most probably also not.
    The exception here is the 767 by level-d. This one allows software to read his internal values and then Niko Kaan wrote the software to read them and put it in fsuipc offsets. This however is not supported anymore by Niko (I think) since his more recent software will not write the data to fsuipc but directly to the opencockpits hardware with an intermediate step via SIOC.
    Hopes this clarifies somehow ... and sorry to tell you this ...

    The only way an addon like PSS and wilco is usefull is for inputs via keystrokes and the mouse trapping. Output from the addons can only via the screens which can be undocked and moved around.

    Greetz Peter
    FS9+PM+AST+opencockpits

Similar Threads

  1. My 767-300 Progress
    By andarlite in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 09-15-2010, 03:34 AM
  2. Some more progress!
    By Jordan Farmer in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 04:58 PM
  3. My sim progress
    By Jake 747 400 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-17-2009, 05:33 PM
  4. Progress Pic
    By mpl330 in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-07-2009, 08:24 AM
  5. more progress!
    By geneb in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 01:16 AM