Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    BU836X Bodnar Card Problem

    I fired up the sim this morning for a flight and found that at least two thirds of the programmed functions in the overhead are no longer working.

    FSUIPC does not recognize most of the switches that are hooked up to the card including pnuematic starters, beacon, taxi and runway lights, heading bug, OBS, pitot heat, and strobe lights among others.

    What is working are the yaw dampers, nav lights, no smoking and fasten seat belt switches. That's it.

    In addition, as soon as the aircraft loads, all three pnuematic starters start by themselves and there is no way to stop it either with a keyboard command or a physical command.

    When loading the default Cessna at Seattle, the engine is attempting to start with the mixture pulled all the way back and the mags in the 'on' position.

    The magneto switch cannot be turned to any position using the mouse or keyboard commands. I find this very strange.

    Why would most of the inputs on this card just stop working for no reason and then exhibit the strange behavior with the default Cessna upon FS startup?

    Not one thing has changed since the last shutdown.

    Assignments remain the same throughout the FS assignments page, all devices are on and recognized, but the card seems to be bad.

    Does anyone have a clue about what could be happening or have happened?

    My 727 is grounded.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    I know dumb questions are a apin, but here goes.... did you try plug/unplug the usb module, and if so do the funtions all seem ok if you go to the joystick config and test them?

    I read an article in the bodnar forum about a similar issue and plug/unplug seemed as tho it corrected it. I am interested since I just started playing with my card from leo on saturday.. very promising.

    BuddyM

  3. #3
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Funny you mention it michael, i don't yet own the leo badnar card .. but on a couple of occations i did have the FS default cessna coming through as the engines for my 737. Bizarre realy. but them after starting it up the next day it dissappeared.

    hehe. Can't help you any further than just to chip that in. Ian might be able to help you on this one.

    Kind Regards
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm still waiting to hear back from Leo.

    This is very strange. It's as though two of the chips on the card stopped working.

    Unplugging and re-plugging in the card has no effect. I don't know why it would as the card still has very limited function.

    This card is programmed through FSUIPC. There are no assignments through FS.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Leo Bodnar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Carter View Post
    I'm still waiting to hear back from Leo.
    Hi Michael,
    I have sent you an email with some update two hours ago. Please let me know if you haven't received it yet.
    Cheers
    Leo
    Last edited by Leo Bodnar; 04-13-2009 at 05:39 PM. Reason: lack of concentration - oops!

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Leo, thanks I did just check my mail and it's there. It might be awhile now until I can get to it. I'm in the middle of something else.

    I'm Michael BTW.

    I'll let you know if this works.

    Thanks again.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The version I had was 1.21 and a serial number of BO5744

    After extracting the the .exe, the version was 1.3. This didn't work. I closed FS and extracted and loaded the .exe again. This time it was version 1.23.

    What happened to version 1.3???

    Once again after the upload I tried to install it and I received an error: "Runtime error 9 Subscript out of range."

    I tried again. This time FSUIPC recognized the taxi, beacon, heading bug and OBS rotary encoders. I'm still missing the rest of the functions from my first post.

    However, the rotary encoders are not working. Rotating the knob rotates both indicators sometimes, while other times neither will rotate but bounce back and forth on one heading.

    Everything else in the aircraft NOT wired to this card works. The engines are still trying to spool up with no power, gas, or air applied. In addition, the aircraft is now trying to push out of the stand on its own.

    What's wrong with this card or the firmware?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member Leo Bodnar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Michael,
    Version 1.23 is the right one. 1.3 was the version of bootloader.
    Since the firmware has been updated and reset you need to go back and turn encoders on again by downloading the encoder configuration software from BU0836X webpage.
    What happens if you just open the Windows gaming devices control panel application? Can you see buttons/encoders working?
    Cheers
    Leo

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Leo Bodnar View Post
    Hi Michael,
    Version 1.23 is the right one. 1.3 was the version of bootloader.
    Since the firmware has been updated and reset you need to go back and turn encoders on again by downloading the encoder configuration software from BU0836X webpage.
    What happens if you just open the Windows gaming devices control panel application? Can you see buttons/encoders working?
    Cheers
    Leo

    When I open the Win Game manager the same functions are working that I stated in my previous post. Inputs 1-8 are lit up in red, 1-3 are the engine pnuematic starters which is why they won't shut off. I can't remember what are on the other 4-8 inputs, but I'm sure they are functions that are not working.

    Only half of this card is working. The heading bug pot is still erratic and lighting up two inputs at a time, and the OBS pot is lighting up four inputs at a time as it is turned.

    And another surprise; I can lower the gear with the lever but I can't raise it without using the keyboard. Both use the same command with different inputs.

    Note: The aircraft is trying to push out of the stand because the Shift P key is mapped to the Ground Crew call button. That's not working either apparently.
    Last edited by Michael Carter; 04-13-2009 at 06:50 PM.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question

    Mike, you have been experimenting with Wide View lately, is there something you've changed recently?

    Maybe some sort of feedback loop created by your third party aircraft's systems?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. PFC 737 Full Yoke and Bodnar B0836X Card For sale
    By rhysb in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 05:19 PM
  2. Connecting toggle switches to Bodnar card
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 05:51 PM
  3. Leo Bodnar BU0836X card inquiry
    By visualchaosfx in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 09:15 PM
  4. Leo Bodnar Bx086 Switch Card
    By davemckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 03:51 PM
  5. My Leo Bodnar Card On Ebay!
    By AlexJ in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2009, 03:26 PM