Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict nax228's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    331
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    VISTA tweaks for better perfomance in FS

    There is several ways to kill CPU hungry processes to direct as much as possible CPU resources for use to what's really important. FS that is.
    I hope you contributors on this forum can help making this list of tweaks as long and good as possible.

    I'll start up with a few of the best known.

    Kill the indexing service. This service run in the background eating CPU and RAM copying files and indexing folders.
    Solution: 1. Navigate to Control Panel, choose “Uninstall a Program” under “Programs” and then click on “Turn Windows features on or off“. There you can disable the Indexing Service.
    More info: http://4sysops.com/archives/how-to-d...indows-search/

    Remove the Windows auto update. Checks the register and online for updates in background.
    Solution:
    1. Click to Start > Control Panel > Classic View > Windows Update.

    2. Click Change Settings.

    3. Under Update service, check Use Microsoft Update to enable Microsoft Update or uncheck it to disable it. Click OK when finished.

    4. Click Continue if prompted by User Account Control.


    Remove Windows Software Protection. Possibly Autoinstalled in a previous windows update.
    Solution: Control Panel/programs and feature/view installed updates and
    right-click line/uninstall.

    Disable the UAC. Can cause problems when installing programs, modules and addons.
    Solution: The easy solution is through Control Panel. Type "UAC" into the search bar at the top of the screen, click turn off...
    More info: http://blogs.msdn.com/tims/archive/2...20/763275.aspx

    Disable spool service. Service used for printing. This only free up a "drop" of RAM, but if you don't have a printer attached, you don't need it.

    There are several programs to disable unnecessary processes. Manual disabeling can be done following TweakHoud's recommendations -> http://www.tweakhound.com/vista/tweakguide/page_8.htm

    Some of the mentioned above and even more are showed at BlackVipers Vista Super tweaks -> http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/supertweaks.htm#nine

  2. Thanks ivar hestnes, Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you

    Curious.... what kind of performance increase did you receive after making these tweaks?

    Matt Olieman

  4. #3
    300+ Forum Addict nax228's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    331
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The hunt for better perfomance is a ongoing and continuing job. Hard to say by FPS, but I feel every byte of RAM spared by the system is a byte for FS.
    I have a general feel that my system is running smoother and FSX perfomance is getting better and better.
    No need to say that weekly defrags are part of keeping the system up to shape.

    Keep them VISTA tweaks comming. Always eager to learn new ones.

  5. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Those above tweaks and several others from another site is what I do to every FS system.

    I think on the main FS computer I have 22-24 essential processes running at the time FS is running that is not FS related. This is an XP system though. Vista may have more requirements.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stafford, UK
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I would recommend turning off the Aero glass interface stuff.

    Tom

  7. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    562
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    follow the guides at vlkviper's website also for optimization. A lot of services can be turned off.

  8. #7
    300+ Forum Addict nax228's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    331
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The "99 ways to squeeze out more power from VISTA" gude can be found here -> http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=2238
    Solutions to all tweaks can be found on bottom of the page.

  9. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    I'm currently using Vista as well. Normally the CPU, RAM and video card I have (Core2 3.20Ghz, 4GB RAM and nVidia GeForce 8800GTX) is more than sufficient.

    But, It would be too nice if it works instantly!
    As far as I found on the net about this performance tweaking for FSX, is that with Vista 32-bit a max of 3GB is being used. Never the less there is more memory on the video card together with the motherboard (cumulative).

    3Gigs = 3Gigs. The solution I've found for this, but haven't got the possibility to test it, is installing Vista 64-bit. This one is capable of exceeding this limitation without tweaking.
    Yeah, right! Watch out for licensing then. If you have the Vista Ultimate DVD, there is no problem. You can use the same license key. Otherwise, It means shopping time! (Ok, this is what understood, though. Could be wrong. But, ...)

    Maybe this helps our fellow builders also a bit in deciding the version of Vista to buy when installing or upgrading.

    If someone has tested this, please let me know. Otherwise I have to reinstall my pc (don't have another to test with) and I'm not only running FSX on that machine.

    rgrds,
    Geert
    -----------------------------------
    If it ain't a boeing, I'm not flying!
    http://flightsim737.dyndns.org:8081

  10. #9
    Mycockpit, Inc. CTO Deesystems's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Mycockpit,INC Boston Office
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Post Windows Tweaker

    Ive uploaded a tweeker in the download section that i have been using.

    from the file description..
    Ultimate Windows Tweaker is a Tweak UI Utility for tweaking and optimizing Windows Vista, 32-bit & 64-bit. It can simply be downloaded and used as a portable application to customize your Windows Vista to meet your requirements. With judicious tweaking, it can make your system faster, more stable, and more secure with just a few mouse clicks. The tweaker detects whether you have IE 7 or IE 8 installed and accordingly offers you the relevant tweaks only.
    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/down...do=file&id=303
    Note:
    Installs on WIN7 with limited functionality.


    Dee

  11. #10
    300+ Forum Addict nax228's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    331
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: VISTA tweaks for better perfomance in FS

    Feel sorry for those who have to struggle on with Vista now that Win7 is available. Win7 is all that Vista was supposed to be.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. XP 64 or Vista 64 for FSX ?
    By GSalden in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-25-2008, 12:32 PM
  2. Anyone using Vista?
    By James Twomey in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-12-2008, 05:16 PM
  3. FSX and Vista
    By klm953 in forum PM and FS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-15-2007, 07:18 PM