Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Preston, UK
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PMDG 737-800 Spoiler operation

    Ok guys,

    So i am starting to play around with what I have here and getting used to using FSUIPC etc

    One thing I cant, for the life of me work out, is how to get the spoiler to arm through an axis on the PMDG 737-800, i have searched on here and it looks like this is something thats a problem generally,

    has this been solved by anyone yet? as its annoying me!!!

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Heli Builder fweinrebe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Namibia
    Posts
    325
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    I haven't done this for spoilers (did this for the flaps), but can offer some help on where to read up on how to setup FSPUIC for this. Use the FSPUIC User Guide and look for the Axis assignment chapter. At the end of that chapter there is a section on setting up ranges. (Used the 3.82 guide) What you'll have to do is set up a range for where the Spoiler is Off, Armed and the rest of the settings.

    As you enter and exit these ranges call one of the following commands:
    SPOILERS_ARM_OFF
    SPOILERS_ARM_ON
    SPOILERS_ARM_SET
    SPOILERS_ARM_TOGGLE
    SPOILERS_OFF

    Hope it helps.
    Fritz -> Helicopter Cockpit Builder
    (FSX | TH2Go | Arduino | C# Avionics | CNC)

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PMDG Spoiler

    hi chris.......
    there is no way to arm the spoiler on the PMDG with the exception of the mouseclick hotspot. not good. PMDG themselves admit that their spoiler logic is not perfect.
    that being said, the spoiler itself does use the normal FS axis. so it is possible to connect an axis and assign it in fsuipc. from there as fritz says you can then assign
    functions along the range for off arm and on.
    going forward any output card worth it's salt will be able to read the state of the spoiler and illuminate the correct led's. i use the CPFlight MIP737. gives me 'do not arm', 'armed' and 'speedbrake extended' annunciation.
    please bear in mind that what i do is distanced from the PMDG. that is i am using a standalone axis to control the spoiler and reading the FS spoiler state to light my annunciators. and the PMDG, using the FS spoilers follows suit.
    hope that sorted it for you. i see you were inspired then (he he he).
    rgds ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Preston, UK
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ian

    Inspired is not the word.. To be hinest I have been looking for something I can get my teeth into, and learn along the way..and I think this just may be it!!

    Anyway, back to the point.

    So when you arm your spoiler..is it actually armed? and will it deploy on landing, or do you need to deploy it manually?

    It seems that the spoiler does not respond to any of the following fsuipc commands

    SPOILERS_ARM_OFF
    SPOILERS_ARM_ON
    SPOILERS_ARM_SET
    SPOILERS_ARM_TOGGLE
    SPOILERS_OFF

    Thanks in advance

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict AchillesP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Greece, Thessaloniki
    Posts
    381
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    FS9 or FSX?

    Quote Originally Posted by MrRoper View Post
    Hi Ian

    Inspired is not the word.. To be hinest I have been looking for something I can get my teeth into, and learn along the way..and I think this just may be it!!

    Anyway, back to the point.

    So when you arm your spoiler..is it actually armed? and will it deploy on landing, or do you need to deploy it manually?

    It seems that the spoiler does not respond to any of the following fsuipc commands

    SPOILERS_ARM_OFF
    SPOILERS_ARM_ON
    SPOILERS_ARM_SET
    SPOILERS_ARM_TOGGLE
    SPOILERS_OFF

    Thanks in advance
    With best regards,
    Achilles
    http://www.thefsps.com

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Preston, UK
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    fs9 using the pmdg 737-800

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict AchillesP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Greece, Thessaloniki
    Posts
    381
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    Download the latest version of fsuipc

    The offsets are the below

    0BCC

    4

    Spoilers arm (0=off, 1=arm for auto deployment)
    0BD0




    4

    Spoilers control, 0 off to 16383 fully deployed (4800 is set by arming)
    0BD4




    4

    Spoiler Left position indicator (0-16383)
    0BD8




    4

    Spoiler Right position indicator (0-16383)

    0366

    2

    Aircraft on ground flag (0=airborne, 1=on ground). Not updated in Slew mode.

    If ODB0 4 = 4800 and if 0366 2 = 1 then you have the auto deploy.

    Quote Originally Posted by MrRoper View Post
    fs9 using the pmdg 737-800
    With best regards,
    Achilles
    http://www.thefsps.com

Similar Threads

  1. A320 TQ Operation Questions
    By Buddym in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 11:30 PM
  2. Your Area of Operation, or, where do you like flying?
    By Michael Carter in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 10:46 AM
  3. Tiller Operation
    By manhattan in forum Cockpit Building Tutorials
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-14-2007, 10:00 PM
  4. Spoiler operation
    By mauriceb in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-25-2006, 09:29 AM