Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member ddimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norcross
    Posts
    145
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looking for flap indicator gauge

    Hey All-

    I was using a flap indicator gauge in FS9 that is no longer working FSX. I have searched high and low for an FSX compatitable, simple, round gauge that indicates 10-40 degrees of flap positions . I was using it for a C-172. Does anyone know where to find one or have other suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Daniel

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    simulated or real?
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member ddimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norcross
    Posts
    145
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The current flap gauge is simulated using a .gau file. It shows up on a lcd monitor through a circular cut out panel.

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Can't you use a default flap .gau file... i don't have FSX installed, but surely you can use it no?

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member ddimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norcross
    Posts
    145
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The default flap gauge indicator for the Cessna or other general aviation aircraft are all square and attached to the flap switch. I was looking for a separate round gauge that would display the flap position with a needle or even a digital readout. The idea gauge would look like this...

    http://www.visualinstruments.com/AnimatedWingFlap01.gif
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member ddimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norcross
    Posts
    145
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I just had another thought....could a flap indicator be built using simple vertical row of 4 lights? Each light would incrementally turn on as you add flaps and go out as you take them in?

    I don't know anything about electronics but could it be attached to the flap toggle switch? Is there something that could use FSUIPC to light up the lights based on the flap degree settings?

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Check the Mooney or a light twin, they should/could have a round one...take the gauge and put it in your cessna cfg.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  8. Thanks ddimm thanked for this post
  9. #8
    75+ Posting Member ddimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norcross
    Posts
    145
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the advise. After my last post - it got me thinking about making a "real" digital readout gauge... this hobby can be too addictive

    I found a perfect solution that was sitting on my desk. I have an old Saitek ST90 usb joystick. It's a cheap joystick that you can buy at Amazon for $US10. http://www.amazon.com/Saitek-ST90-Jo.../dp/B0000AW9RQ

    The top of the joystick has 2 buttons that light up 4 led bulbs - normally used for throttle settings. I torn down the joystick and set up FSUIPC axis calibration to control the flaps. Now I have exactly what I wanted, a cheap, visual way to see what my flaps are set to. It also give me access to 3 additional buttons.

    I just need to replace the throttle momentary buttons with my flap toggle switch and I am flying again.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #9
    75+ Posting Member mlscotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    83
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What offsets did you use, i want to make a bank of LED's to do that same thing but not sure what offsets to select.

  11. #10
    75+ Posting Member ddimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norcross
    Posts
    145
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by mlscotti View Post
    What offsets did you use, i want to make a bank of LED's to do that same thing but not sure what offsets to select.

    I believe I used the axis setup, assigned it to the flaps and did direct control with FSUIPC. It did not require any offsets when I used the calibration screen for the flap control. My leds light up for 10-40 degrees of flaps. It works "most" of the time...I am still trying to figure out why sometimes the flap indicator will show 20 degrees before the flaps start being deployed. After the first time I fully extend the flaps it works just fine. It's just another good reason for me to go thru my preflight checklist.

Similar Threads

  1. Digital Flap Indicator Incorrect
    By Matt Doucette in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 10:41 PM
  2. 737 NG flap indicator
    By Nav Lt in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 09-24-2005, 12:25 PM
  3. flap indicator
    By null null in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2004, 11:37 PM
  4. flap indicator with 8/8/8
    By landwerlen in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-30-2004, 12:04 PM
  5. Moving the flap indicator e trim gauge
    By null null in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-13-2004, 10:58 PM