Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Goflight single rotary

    Hi guys,
    Can someone please shed some light on an ongoing problem that I'm having with a Goflight single rotary encoder? I'm trying to connect Goflight's single rotary encoder switch to a FDT input simboards, but unfortunately, I'm having no success . I've tried every possible wiring configuration but no luck! It seems that the push switch part of the rotary switch is working like an encoder, when it's pressed. Can someone please give me the correct wiring schematics for Goflights single rotary encoder switch, Rev.5 is stamped on the PCB board!
    Thank you.
    Phil
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    canton ga.
    Posts
    69
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi
    I also have the same encoder and Have mine working this way.
    On rev. 5 the wiring is different than the example shown on the web site.
    I connected mine to a Goflight board but still should work the same for a different board.
    Turn the encoder over so the knob is down with the 7 connectors at the top.
    starting from the left the second con. is gnd and will be used for both the push switch and the encoder. 6 and 7 connectors are the other inputs for the encoder function. The switch will use the con 2 as gnd and on the right side there are 3 more con use the middle one for the other side of the switch. I have been using 4 of thease encoders and for me they work fine, the switch workes just like any other push button switch.
    percy

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you so much percy,
    I will try it as soon as I go home tonight!
    Cheers,
    Phil
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    canton ga.
    Posts
    69
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi
    My memory is getting old I have two wires backwards the swith is the con 2 on top and the gnd is the middle con. of the right three, sorry. Encoder con 6 and 7 plus gnd and switch con 2 plus gnd.

  5. Thanks Philb737 thanked for this post
  6. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    HI Percy,
    A new discovery, I wired the encoder according to your previous post with the ground in pos 2 and encoder con 6 and con 7. By doing so I have to press and then rotate the encoder knob for it to work, just like the real deal on the pressurization panel!!! I'm leaving the push switch part out of the equation, I have no need for the push switch in my pressurization panel. Thank you again.
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. DIALING HI AND LO FOR VOR FREQUENCY WITH a single 12 POS ROTARY
    By shoumi in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 07:17 PM
  2. GoFlight MCP Advanced & GoFlight LGT
    By dvanv in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-18-2010, 07:49 AM
  3. Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9
    By ryanf in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 01:14 PM
  4. throttle for single GA
    By Jackpilot in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 11:32 AM
  5. Building a 45 Deg rotary from a standard 30 deg rotary ?
    By shafian in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2008, 06:57 PM