Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member tasmanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hobart , Australia
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exclamation How are you guys getting 180 deg FOV

    Quote Originally Posted by Lambis777 View Post
    from the never ending Sol7

    So we build a cylindrical screen 180 degree we use the TH2G and send the fs view to the projectors and finally run the sol7 to give us the perfect warp around 180 screen.

    But the question is How the fs9 or the fsx can give us FOV of 180 degree?

    As far as i know the smallest zoom factor in the fs9 and the fsx is 0,30 and this i think is give us FOV of the 107 degrees.

    The best to project 180 degrees FOV from Fs to 180 screen.
    And not 107 degrees FOV from Fs to 180 screen.

    Exist any way ? (without re-create 3 separate views or use wideview)
    Can someone have solution to this?
    Lambis
    How are you guys getting 180 deg FOV

    Just did some tests on the fs9 lear and this supports Lamis claim on FS9 FOV

    Steve
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member tasmanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hobart , Australia
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exclamation So how do we achieve this Nick

    Quote Originally Posted by brynjames View Post
    Nic in Tasmania gets over this by using multiple contiguous window views. -- Bryn

    So how do we achieve this Nick

    Is it as simple as changing the [VIEWS] in the Panel.cfg ???

    Regards
    Steve

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member tasmanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hobart , Australia
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exclamation Had a bit of a go at this and managed 180 deg FOV

    . FS9

    Had a bit of a go at this and managed 180 deg FOV

    Set both of my screens in >Options>Settings>Display>Hardware to 960x600

    Opened another Cockpit Veiw (1) and moved and resized to Monitor 2 to aprox HD ratio

    changed [VIEWS] in panel.cfg
    to
    VIEW_FORWARD_RIGHT_WINDOWS=36
    VIEW_FORWARD_RIGHT_DIR=0.000, 0.000, 45.000

    VIEW_FORWARD_LEFT_WINDOWS=30
    VIEW_FORWARD_LEFT_DIR=0.000, 0.000, -45.000

    45 gave an overlap

    changed the eyepoint=60.0, 0.00, 0.00 in Aircraft.cfg


    Set Cockpit Veiw 00 to
    Look Forward/Left
    Zoom 000.40

    Set Cockpit Veiw 01 to
    Look Forward/Right
    Zoom 000.35

    Turn >Veiws>Instrument Panel>Global On Off

    The result was O.K

    Sol7 would solve the problem in the middle of a 180 FOV screen

    The perspective appears to be out about 10 deg at the ends

    Maybe ACES will give us 180 FOV for 2 HD monitors in FSY (11)

    Regards
    Tas

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member tasmanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hobart , Australia
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Post FOV 180 Image


  5. Thanks Trevor Hale thanked for this post
  6. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    190
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here is Nic's page on the visual system:

    http://www.insitesolutions.com.au/73...develop_v2.htm

    Makes good reading.

    --
    Bryn

  7. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie Melnato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    206
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I tried opening up windows last night to get the elusive 180 FOV...
    but the frames rates fell through the roof.

    NicD...How do you over come this???????????????????????????

    What frame rates do you average mate?

    Nat

  8. #7
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey guys.. we're actually getting 270 degrees field of view with the system now. When you turn your head to look out the rear window you can't see the end of the screen... so the immersion level has gone up a notch (so have costs mind you!). 3 ultra shrot throw projectors - Optoma EX525ST.

    FPS... well I've done just about every tweak in the book, abandoned some, kept others. Koorby's guide over at the vista australis forum is one of the best around. Dual core PC with 4gb ram (dell 6300 - 2 yrs old), and Nvidia 9600GT card with 528MB ram. We have done so much tuning and tweaking that its hard to remember it all now (sorry!).. but at least if you're system is similar or better than ours then it offers hope o keep trying.

    I have my FPS target set to 23 and it hovers around 20 most of the time, the odd stutter on big scenery loads, but its quite smooth generally.

    Window positions are best edited using values in the ini file. Play with the values and they will start to make sense.

    To test zooms, get the aircraft flying over the sea, put it into a 30 degree bank and pause. Play with zoom settings - all windows should be set to the same zoom%. When all the horizons line up you have the right soom set (and this will vary for each sim).
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  9. Thanks Swiss1673 thanked for this post
  10. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Nic,

    Sorry to crash this thread but Santa was kind to me this year and delivered the same projector (EX525ST) but so far my visuals have looked rubbish -very 'blocky' and not too impressed with it so far in FS. I have tried it with a DVD and it's great, sharp image etc. but in FS it sucks. What settings have you got your desktops and FS set to?

    Thanks
    Mike

  11. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie Melnato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    206
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yep Mike,

    You have to get used to a projector...you cant compare the image to a 19" LCD for example.

    How big is your projected image? Just think about how big your new image is...

    OHHHH...Set the full screen resolution of FS9/X to the "native" resolution of your project exactly...
    your are just fooling yourself if you try and set it any higher...in fact the image will get worse.

    BTW FSX has higher rez. textures than FS9...

    Nat

  12. Thanks mpl330 thanked for this post
  13. #10
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Mike - ours went blocky first time as well, but it was the NVIDIA card losing its antialiasing settings. For some reason the FS9 profile in Nhancer or Nvidia settings just wouldn't work anymore, so I ditched Nhancer and just changed the base settings in nvidia settings (i.e. not using a profile). Works nicely now with clear sharp images.

    Double check that the correct resolution is still selected in FS9 display settinbs. Changing output displays can knock that back to 800x600 without you knowing. And as Nat says - use the native resolution of your projector for best results.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  14. Thanks mpl330 thanked for this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hello guys
    By AeroB737Sim in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-20-2011, 07:31 PM
  2. hi guys
    By deakin09 in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-07-2009, 09:00 PM
  3. Hey guys I really need your help
    By warvet in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-12-2009, 03:52 AM
  4. What do you guys think?
    By visualchaosfx in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-08-2007, 01:38 PM
  5. For all the 737 Guys!!
    By dodiano in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 10:13 PM