Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Neccesity....

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Neccesity....

    .....Lead to this. After accepting CAD drawings from a fellow simmer to make 737 parts, I won a bid to make a scaleable CPT. (will be made to be upgradeable to a FFS) I was busy trying to train myself on CAM software (Feature CAM) and also translate files from AUTOCAD to AUTODESK Inventor. Being busy with the free project, I tried to outsource all the panels from the paying job to free up time and deliver a more profesional product. I contacted all the usual suspects (manufacturers)with some shoddy information and after a few were graciouus ebough to talk to me via email and phone I soon learned that I needed to begin with the hardware (buttons, knobs) before just asking for panels to be built. Some weren't intersted in building for me but offered great advice, which was fine. Another already makes the panels but does not want to sell me the individual panels I need,l instead inssiting on selling the whole package, which is fine too. But I still needed to get these done. So thank you too those who could not help, I guess I will be doing all the panels myself......and....will be making individual panels available to fellow simmers as they are refined. Off to the CNC Mill to see how this thing looks. (not 100% realistic but darn close)

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It looks good and I wish you luck with your projects.

    I might have to have you make a Performance Management System head for me down the road. That would eliminate my keyboard from the cockpit for good.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'd be glad to Michael, the panels will of course be PVC if backlit, but I could do aluminum if it just needs to engraved or embossed. Send me some drawings or just a sketch and ideas and I can draft it out.

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It would have to backlit including the keys. It's not as complicated as an FMC used in a Boeing. This is a very rudementary engine management system used in the '70's and probably up through retirement of the 727.

    The screen need not work or even light up. I just need the keys to work with a Hagstrom keyboard emulator to eliminate my co-pilot seat keyboard.

    Standard Boeing rack width, a little shorter than it is wide. Close is good enough as I don't have dimensions or an example.

    No hurry. I have a few irons in the fire right now with a working weather radar from another member here.

    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks good Michael, I would need to know what hardware (buttons, switches) you are going to use, with dimensions to plot out the rest, especially to utilize those large buttons.
    Last edited by ak49er; 01-04-2009 at 10:10 PM. Reason: edit

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Might be awhile, but the keyboard is nearly a standard size 10-key touchpad with a couple missing.

    I won't forget, but it might be late spring before I get around to gathering the hardware and sending dimensions of that.

    Thanks for the offer. Much appreciated and easier than reverse engineering a real PSM unit.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Any idea of the main dims, LxWxH? I need at least one set to scale the rest......will draw soon if I have that....

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yep, standard Boeing rack width 5.75" for the backplate. About a 1/32" smaller for the lightplate. 5.325" center-to-center on the hole spacing across the unit.

    Don't know about the height, but looks to be about 5.5" +/-. Maybe 5-3/8"
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Another one down......

    This is the display bezel modeled 99% after a Honeywell Display Bezel, once I figure out how to fixture it, I'll make a run of these, available soon, should this part be aluminum or plastic, I worry that plastic will warp with that big of an opening, but aluminum is so costly..... Revision, v2 will have a backcut to allow a piece of smoked arcrylic to be recessed in the rear for a simulated anti-glare screen. This fun and easy, why didn't I do this instead of calling all those uninterested manufacturers, three cheers for DIY!!!
    Last edited by ak49er; 01-05-2009 at 02:42 PM. Reason: revision

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks great. You saved a lot of money by DIY'ing.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast