Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My Computer Spec update!.

    Hi, i thought i would let you know, what pc spec i have gone for, for those interested from my previous post.

    What i had:

    DELL OPTIPLEX GX260 (250 watt power supply)
    2.60 Ghz Processor P4
    64MB GRAPHICS
    1GB RAM
    40GB Hard drive,
    CD Rewriter (no dvd)
    15" old style CRT monitor
    Ensonique PCI Soundcard with Gameport
    Gameport CH PRODUCTS VIRTUAL PILOT PRO YOKE (direct to gameport)
    Gameport CH PRODUCTS PRO RUDDER PEDALS (direct to converter to USB)
    FS2004 + FSUIPC Unregistered

    As you can see its a real old and low performance pc.

    Not having much money on my side, i have gone for the DIY option and im going to do a build it yourself jobby!

    Heres what im building:

    AMD Dual core (2.6ghz x2) Motherboard + CPU
    600 watt power supply
    256mb Graphics (4 times better than the dell)
    2 GB RAM
    80 GB Hardrive
    CD + DVD Rewriter
    19" Widescreen LCD Monitor
    A nice black tower case.................................ALL FOR 250 (bargain)!!!!

    Win XP - FS2004 + FSUIPC Registered
    Leo Bodnar BU0836 + Home built Throttle Quad + Avionics Switch Panel
    (Its a shame FS2004 doesnt use 2 cores of processor, maybe get FS-X?)
    Ensonique PCI Soundcard with Gameport
    Gameport CH PRODUCTS VIRTUAL PILOT PRO YOKE (direct to gameport)
    Gameport CH PRODUCTS PRO RUDDER PEDALS (direct to converter to USB)

    Not exactly top notch but its certainly a massive improvement, and for the money its a good deal i think.

    What do you think, will it do the job?

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FS9 will smoke on that system. If funds allow, I'd bump up the monitor size to a 22" or 24". They're pretty cheap right now especially from Hanns. Not a bad monitor either. My step-father is using one and has been happy with it for over a year.

    FS9 can't take advantage of the dual core, but other programs can while FS is running.

    If you can still find them, the ATI Sapphire X1950GT 256 is a great card for FS9. PCIe x16 too. More than adequate for FS9.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    just been on ebay and looked at the saphire, the card you are talking about is around 50, so they still quite expensive!

    AP08

    PS....Can i just add, ive been looking at some screen shots of the saphire graphics on some fantasy game and the graphics are amazing, something is tempting me now.....decisions decisions?

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's about what I gave for mine a year ago, converted to US dollars of course.

    It's a great card for FS9 that won't break the bank.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    what about a 2 monitor setup?

    would 2 x 17" go down well u think making up a 34" wideview?

    because i could get 2 19" for about 150 the same price as 22"

    ....must add, scap this idea, as this could be hassle!
    Last edited by AlexJ; 12-10-2008 at 09:26 AM. Reason: info

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    Can anyone please tell me if i might be better upgrading to FSX just to get the full use of 2 cores?

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    In my opinion, FSX will stumble on that system. You'll likely have to spend more than what you planned to get acceptable performance.

    I think you'd be disappointed.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    With FS2004 you'll be ok, it wont be great but ok, if you add AES for example you'll see a performance hit. It all depends what kind of frame rate is acceptable to a person. Also with FSX you're in a bit if trouble. FSX relies heavily on CPU. And the fact thats its Dual Core doesnt matter for neither Flight Sim.

  9. #9
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Michael

    Yeah, im thinking your right too, id rather have the very best performance of FS2004 than the very least performance of FSX, I suppose its much better to utilize what i already have to its full potential, then to have the latest system which im not equiped for. I have my budget which i will stick to and im definately going to buy the sapphire graphics card, just seen the sapphire graphics card (256mb version) for about 30, and thats brand new too! also im going to upgrade to a 22" lcd for the sake of an extra 30, theres nothing better than having a nice big screen!, 19" would be a little too small after much consideration, i would like a 24" but the price jump from a 22" to a 24" is an extra 50, when i could use than money to buy a Leo Bodnar usb card and register FSUIPC.

    Thanks for your advice Michael.

    Alex

  10. #10
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi 737NG DRIVER

    Can i just ask what is AES?

    Thanks Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Got a really high spec server
    By PaulCooper in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-02-2010, 07:14 PM
  2. First Thread Re Basic Spec for Multi Monitors - Thanks for Help
    By cwlondon in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-2010, 10:35 PM
  3. computer set up fsx
    By spiro in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-08-2009, 10:59 PM
  4. PFD/ND/CDU on same computer
    By Jackpilot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 03:19 PM
  5. A good PC spec!
    By AlexJ in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-29-2009, 01:46 PM