Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Haven't a Clue where to begin. lol

    Ok, I had saved long enough to buy all of this but I have the following PM Applications...

    Boeing Type Glass Cockpit
    Boeing Type MCP
    PM Systems
    PM CDU/FMC

    As well as for hardware for now the GoFlight MCP Pro

    For now I am not worried about integrating the MCP Pro, but I am confused on how to tie in all these PM Apps to control let's say Simmer's Sky 737-700 (Which is pretty much MS Default). It has no CDU or Full MCP Support like all default aircraft forcing you to only use HDG, ALT, V/S IAS, N1.

    How do you use the PM apps to control the other functions such as LNAV, VNAV, advanced MCP controls, the CDU. And what computers would you group them into....
    for instance....

    On Computer 1 I have FS2004 running with the Go Flight modules and other hardware running off of it.

    Computer 2 runs the Glass Cockpit and PMSounds

    Would you run the rest on Computer 3 or split them up into two more PC's... Start slowly guys, lol I am new to this part of sim building and would be ecstatic if I found out that PM's Apps will allow a MS Default Aircraft to be controlled by all functions of a real 737 (these so called advanced options like the CDU)


    Thanks

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think I may have answered part of my question, I can control the LNAV of a default MS aircraft using PM CDU and PM MCP.

    But it looks like these programs would still bnefit from an aircraft that has a mostly fully working overhead and logics system (ie. PMDG or Ariane 737)

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    One you didn't mention. Registered copy of FSUIPC & WideFS. Have a look at the Posky 737-800. Freeware and top notch in my book.

    PM Systems possibly on another PC. Glass, MCO & CDU should work OK on one computer depending on its power and ram. You will have to experiment to see what best fits your hardware.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Oh yeah, I just finished forking out the dough on FSUIPC and WideFS this afternoon.

    Glass Cockpit, MCP and CDU on one pc is alright on the computer handling it but would the MCP & CDU interfere at all with the Glass Cockpit if I have the GC Program in use on my PFD/ND/EICAS during startup. I ask this because I want to avoid as much keyboard/mouse clutter as possible in the sim
    Last edited by aircanbp; 10-18-2008 at 10:11 AM. Reason: Added Info

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I do have another puzzling question. I have a desktop aviator 20 button interface http://www.desktopaviator.com/Produc...2040/index.htm
    While I know this doesn't handle wiring switches easily so I will have to finde an interface card that will allow switches as well...
    How do I program a custom button that I have wired into this interface in PMSystems to tell PMSystem I am trying to push a certain button.

    For the time being I have been using key2mouse with exceptional results except you have to open the Overhead panel of the 737 before pushing a button that will communicate through key2mouse

    Can you tell I am very new to the whole PM thing? lol

    Any ideas as well and a very good, yet reasonably cheat interface card that would handle most of the overhead functions of the 737-700... at least as far as switches, buttons, rotaries and ON OFF ON style switches?

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You can trash the K2M program. Pete Dowson's FSUIPC mouse capture capability has made K2M obsolete. And you don't even have to open the panel.

    I run the whole 727 overhead using this. Great stuff.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I still would prefer to know how to program the buttons and switches through PM Systems that way I can tinker around with it. PM Systems will more then likely be the program running my LED warning and caution lights as well

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Of course, I understand that completely. PM will do a much better job with control logic for the B737.

    The 727 is unsupported so I have little choice of go-betweens for my sim. The FSUIPC was a Godsend for all unsupported aircraft builders.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Carter View Post
    The 727 is unsupported so I have little choice of go-betweens for my sim. The FSUIPC was a Godsend for all unsupported aircraft builders.
    Nope. FSUIPC's mouse macros do not work with a single one of the gauges on Matthias Liebrecht's WONDERFUL BAe 146-200 panels. So this doesn;t solve it for all of us. Unfortunately....... I had high hopes when he added that function. Oh well.

    best,

    ...............john

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sorry, uh, ...many unsupported aircraft builders.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Where to begin?
    By Captain_Eirik in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-2009, 04:41 AM
  2. where to begin
    By Mr. Midnight in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-19-2008, 09:53 PM
  3. First fatigue tests begin on A380
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2007, 01:40 PM
  4. How to begin, where to start?
    By ekezz in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2007, 07:15 PM
  5. First fatigue tests begin on A380
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 06:41 AM