Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: 737 trim

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    737 trim

    I have an issue with my trim-function. When on autopilot, the trim is correcting every movement due to wind or whatsoever. (software and then hardware also of course). And it always trim too much, so it has to correct back again. The trimwheels almost never stop to run. Forward and back, all the time. Sometimes I have to go around because of this. Because when I use approach it trim so much that I actually miss the glideslope

    If it was possible to add a delay or something to the trim it would be nice.

    Anyone else has issues with this? Or improvements to share

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The 727 only does this in rough conditions. Normally, you'll only hear the trim when setting flaps or a power change, or both.

    I noticed it trimming quite a bit in your video. Man, that chain drive gets on my nerves in rough weather.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes - we have the same issues. At the moment we have disabled trim wheel movement while the autopilot is connected. In the longer term we'll be programming SIOC to handle this. A few ideas here:

    1) use a delay between writes so that the trim isnít running constantly
    so logic could be Ė once a trim command has occurred to the trim then donít do another command until X seconds has elapsed


    2) There also needs to be trend logic to eliminate constant small corrections. So donít do a trim command if the commanded change is less than X% of trim.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes Michael, the trimwheel chain is having a really hard life. At least I have a switch to cut off the motor, but the relays still make noise though.

    NicD: You definitely are spot on with your suggestions here. But I dont know how to solve it. Thats for sure. Could there be a way to configure this in the flight-model?

    I tried FSX with default 737 a while ago, and if I remember correct, it was much smoother there.

    My first guess is that maybe this is flight-model related. I use pmdg as the flight model in my setup. But I cant remember the trim acted like this when desktop flying earlier. Is it possible that it is the combination of pmdg and PM that cause this? hmmmm. Lots of questions

    Anyone using an other 737 flight-model? Experiences?


  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes that's right Ivar - from my testing it's the PM AFDS that is overactive... the A/T is just too twitchy, and the movements a bit coarse. Maybe we should talk to PM about smoothing the A/T logic?
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I am using Phidgets rate of change function to control my trim motors with my logic board. With that function, you can adjust how sensitive the trim wheel motion is and I don't really have a problem with that setup.
    Yes, the A/P does try to trim a bit too often but it settles down quickly and it is not an issue for me.
    I tried without using the rate of change function and it was a disaster since the trim wheel was moving almost constantly.

    Anyway, here is my circuit and some notes I made. I used my own logic board, but you can do the same now with a Phidgets 2 relays board where the relays can be controlled by an offset. I'm sure there must be other ways to make trim function properly, but this works for me

    Maurice





  7. Thanks ivar hestnes thanked for this post
  8. #7
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes, we should definitely talk to PM about this issue. Maybe they can make a solution for it. I will send a mail later today. Maybe you can do the same NicD

    Thanks for explaining what you did Maurice. My trim is setup with phidgets, so I will check the "phidgets/FS rate of change" function. Thanks.


  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi there.

    I tried to "uncheck" the use FS rate of change box. But it didnt actually help. The trimwheel now only go in one direction. But less movement on the wheel though. Still indicator moves alot, like before.

    I use same offset as per your drawing Maurice.

    I sent an e-mail to PM-support and a link to this thread.

    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ivar hestnes View Post
    Hi there.

    I tried to "uncheck" the use FS rate of change box. But it didnt actually help. The trimwheel now only go in one direction. But less movement on the wheel though. Still indicator moves alot, like before.

    I use same offset as per your drawing Maurice.

    I sent an e-mail to PM-support and a link to this thread.


    What do you mean by 'uncheck? That setting should be checked in both inputs. I will send you screenshots of mt settings as soon as I can.

    Maurice

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here are my Phidgets settings. If you decide to try that, you will have to play with the sliders to get the right trim wheel movements (adjust sensitivity). Of course, it would be a lot easier if PM fixed their PM trim offsets

    Maurice






Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Trim
    By Mac in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 01:11 PM
  2. 737 Trim
    By Mac in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 07:51 AM
  3. trim
    By hercules in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-01-2009, 07:06 PM
  4. Rudder Trim?
    By Pierre24 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2008, 04:17 AM
  5. Trim
    By hercules in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2007, 04:04 PM