Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member jytte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Texas (Danish)
    Posts
    70
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Add-on Scenery and Frame-rates??

    Hi All,

    We've been flying FS2004 for years and are very happy with it.
    We're flying the FS "as is", no add-ons of any kind.
    Now I'm thinking about maybe getting some add-on scenery.
    Can anybody with experience with that, tell me if adding on
    scenery packages will affect the frame-rate???

    Input will be greatly appreciated.

    Jytte

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    Depending on the add-on then it may affect but many replacement textures may be the same size as the originals.

    Good places to look would be Avsim & Flightsim they have thousands of free downloads...

    Cheers
    Mike

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I use UT Europe. There was some minimal impact on my old 1.3Ghz system and some features were turned down a bit. With todays systems you shouldn't notice any impact with terrain software.

    I also have Fly Tampa Vienna, Mega Frankfurt, and German Airports 1. Those airport sceneries brought my old system to it's knees. Except for Mega Frankfurt which my old system wasn't compatible with because lack of processor speed and memory. The new system doesn't even break a sweat.

    The newer systems should handle it all very well with minimum impact on frame rates. I don't notice any difference on my modest newer system and frame rates hold well at 25 fps wherever I'm at.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, now that you ask...

    I just last night Finally got around to d/l and installing 'Real Environment Pro' from Avsim. It's a very nice looking enhancement that is FREE and that way if it bogs you down, you just uninstall it.

    Also, I have found that Flight Scenery's Rhode Island and Portland packages really have very minimal impact on my sim. My specs are listed below. As others have mentioned, usually you can expect some sort of impact on FPS if you are running an old machine like I am. I have no doubt that with a top of the line current PC, you can run not only FS9 but FSX reliably too.

    My specs:

    Windows XP home
    AMD 2800
    1 Gig of PC2700 RAM
    1 Nvidia Geforce 7600GT 256 AGP card

    ....so...as you can see, nothing like what can be built these days!

    AND, I run:

    Ultimate Terrain USA
    Several FlyTampa sceneries (TNCM, Seattle, Vienna, KBOS)
    ImagineSim San Juan, Nassau
    Bermuda by Freeflow Florida
    Ultimate Traffic 2004
    Ground Environment

    ...and I get decent frame rates!
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member jytte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Texas (Danish)
    Posts
    70
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you all
    That was very helpful!
    I will look for some of those you mentioned.
    Jytte

Similar Threads

  1. fs9 frame rates
    By willdart in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 01:41 PM
  2. Sound card & frame rates
    By mauriceb in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-30-2008, 08:01 PM
  3. New motherboard - strange fs9 frame rates
    By pmillerrusso in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 06:18 PM
  4. frame rates
    By airsideservicesltd. in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 07:59 PM
  5. Frame Rates
    By Patrick Smith in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-08-2007, 03:57 PM