Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yoke recommendations

    Hi all

    I am looking at potentially replacing my CH Flight Sim Yoke with something a little more solid. The current yoke would probably end up in the right seat of my light-twin sim.

    Does anybody have any recommendation. I would probably have a budget of up to NZ$600 - about 450 or so US$.

    I could almost afford PFC Cirrus Yoke for this money. Are they any good? Are there any competitors out there?

    There`s also the Elite Yoke for what looks like a little less coinage than the PFC one.

    I have the Saitek throttle quads and am pretty happy with them , however I`ve heard mixed opinions of the Saitek Yoke.

    NB, please bear in mind that the outcome of this discussion will need to be signed off by the CFO, I mean the Mrs, so slick and compelling grovels gratefully received!

    Thanks in advance

    James
    CH Yoke
    CH Pedals
    2 Saitek TQ`s
    Opencockpits multiradio
    GF LGT + T8
    BU0386x and custom autopilot control panel
    Basic pedestal and mip for generic GA sim in progress..

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yoke/control columns are not hard to build. You could purchase a real Boeing yoke with all switches and wired for under your dollar amount and have enough left over for material to build the column, mount, and electronics.

    Have a look around here and if you don't see something, ask! http://www.angelfire.com/il2/aphs/ Airline Pilot's Historical Society.

    There's also a very nice yoke available by a member here, but there's nothing like the feel of a real yoke under your fingers. The heft, look, and feel of the Boeing yoke is hard to replicate.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi James,

    For a light-twin sim you'd probably be looking at something like a Cessna or Beech yoke. For those dollars, the Hungarian manufacturer Routech make a very solid Cessna yoke, or PFC do really lovely Beech & Mooney yokes (at a premium though), but you can buy just the yoke without any mechanism if you build your own. The cheapest option for a Cessna yoke would be Simkits, although it is plastic and a bit flimsy (I know because I use one).

    As for the Saitek yoke problems, I avoided those last year due to this, however I think they fixed the errant joystick problems from December. Check out their forums to find out.

    Having said all that, the old CH yoke when removed, painted black and mounted on your own yoke system can come up a treat, and at very little cost!

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member ddimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norcross
    Posts
    145
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I agree with Ken on the CH Yoke Product. I modified the heck out of mine by replacing the springs, extending the tube with 1/2" galvanized pipe , painting, and adding a trim wheel kit. It now feels much more like a light aircraft yoke.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie QF6228's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    199
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ddimm View Post
    I agree with Ken on the CH Yoke Product. I modified the heck out of mine by replacing the springs, extending the tube with 1/2" galvanized pipe , painting, and adding a trim wheel kit. It now feels much more like a light aircraft yoke.
    That modification sounds interesting, Any chance of some pictures?

    Damien

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi everyone and thanks for the feedback.

    I`m really interested in the mods you done to the CH yoke, Ddimm, would you be able to post any more details? Basically the aileron axis pot has died on mine so if I could refurbish the electronics, soften the springs and add some damping I could be persuaded. Its worth a try as the alternative is replacement anyway.

    I would prefer a panel mounted yoke rather than a floormount (airliner style) yoke. I`m slowly building a KingAir 200 sim so this would be more appropriate.

    I will checkout the Routech offering - I`ve not heard of them before.

    Anyone else with feedback on the PFC offerings? I am planning to get the yoke mechanism behind the panel so a fairly long 'tube' and quality bearings would be essential.

    I suspect the bearings would be the problem with extending the CH yoke tube..?

    Thanks everyone.

    James

    Quote Originally Posted by ddimm View Post
    I agree with Ken on the CH Yoke Product. I modified the heck out of mine by replacing the springs, extending the tube with 1/2" galvanized pipe , painting, and adding a trim wheel kit. It now feels much more like a light aircraft yoke.
    CH Yoke
    CH Pedals
    2 Saitek TQ`s
    Opencockpits multiradio
    GF LGT + T8
    BU0386x and custom autopilot control panel
    Basic pedestal and mip for generic GA sim in progress..

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm afraid I mis-understood your post. i thought you had two sims, an airliner and a light twin and was replacing the airliner yoke with something more substantial. Then using the old yoke in the twin.

    A column-mounted yoke certainly wouldn't be correct for a King Air.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member ddimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norcross
    Posts
    145
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    James -

    Unfortunately no pixs (yet) but I can describe what I had done. I unscrewed the face plate of the yoke (8 screws) and cut the wires to the left and right handles. Be sure you mark what side they went to. (they are also color coded) Push the wires into the yoke's tube. I used a Dremel to cut the outside of the tube that meets the yoke. Unscrew the the plastics round plate that secured it to the yoke and remove the small piece of tube. I took this to my local hardware store (Home Depot) to the plumbing section. I found they sold 1/2" threaded galvanized pipe with threads on both sides. It comes in several lengths. (I choose 7"). Extend your wires that you cut and run them thru the end of the the galvanized tube. The threading will screw into the end of the tube of the flight yoke with a little extra effort. Put the yoke onto the extended length of the tube and screw the small plastic end back onto the galvanized tube. Run the wires thru the round plastic plate and screw back in. Your yoke should now be secured back on your extended tube. Reattach your wires and replace your
    face plate. It should be good to go at that point!

    Replacing the pot should be no problem. Just open the main case and replace it. Maybe you can use another pot inside the case like mixture or pitch.

    I replaced my springs with something a little heavier (again from Home Depot)

    I wired in a trim wheel mod kit from www.desktopaviator.com

    I hope this helps.
    Daniel

  9. Thanks rottenlungs thanked for this post
  10. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing Skunk Works View Post
    I'm afraid I mis-understood your post. i thought you had two sims, an airliner and a light twin and was replacing the airliner yoke with something more substantial. Then using the old yoke in the twin.

    A column-mounted yoke certainly wouldn't be correct for a King Air.
    Hey no worries at all. To be honest I hadn`t thought for one moment that my sort of budget would allow for the purchase of some original equipment. Now that I`m back from work, I`m off to check that link you mentioned. It would be very nice indeed to build a 60`s jet. I have always thought that I would build a sim around the Maltby BAC 1-11 one day and original parts take the fidelity of the sim up a fair few notches.

    Daniel, I`m guessing the threaded pipe is the sort of stuff used for plumbing right? That`s a good idea. I have a couple of these pipes floating around from renovating my bathroom - I wonder...??!

    Thanks again everyone.

    James


    Thanks again everyone.
    CH Yoke
    CH Pedals
    2 Saitek TQ`s
    Opencockpits multiradio
    GF LGT + T8
    BU0386x and custom autopilot control panel
    Basic pedestal and mip for generic GA sim in progress..

  11. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    James,

    Now you're getting the idea my brother. Using some left over pipes from a plumbing replacement is an excellent move. The kind we love to see around here. Now if you can just figure out how to use the livingroom for a hangar without the wife catching on....

    'Dear, why does the sofa have a bunch of switches on the arms...?'
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need PCI Video Card Recommendations
    By Michael Carter in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-2009, 05:43 PM
  2. Nav / com radio recommendations
    By nosecone in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-29-2008, 05:26 PM
  3. Nav / com radio recommendations
    By nosecone in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-29-2008, 05:26 PM
  4. Panel recommendations
    By Paul G in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 06-09-2007, 05:57 PM
  5. RE: PDA/GPS unit recommendations
    By Steve Sobaski in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-26-2006, 02:29 PM