Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Stick Shakers

  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member rt72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    93
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Stick Shakers

    Does anybody have good pictures of stick shakers mounted on a column, or know who makes them? I'm looking to build them and I can't find any images.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    255
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here is one on a Grumman Tracker.

    You are probably looking for an airline type yoke?? But maybe this will give you an idea.

    On the Tracker you can see the round can looking thing hanging under the yoke,, attacked to the column . It is simply a off center weight (in the can) driven by a small electric motor.
    When the AoA system reaches the yellow arc,, it starts the motor which gives a good shaking to the yoke.
    _CP00326.JPG

  3. #3
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I remeber seeing one recently during one of my net trawl sessions, but can't for the life of me find it. It was simply some sort of stepper motor attached to the stem of the airline yoke. Not sure how it functioned though, whether by sound or he had a force feedback joystick controller attached.

    Perhaps you could try contacting Mike Powell, he may has done research into this.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by rt72 View Post
    Does anybody have good pictures of stick shakers mounted on a column, or know who makes them? I'm looking to build them and I can't find any images.

    Thanks!

    Stick shakers are easy parts to build. All you need is a little electric motor, and an offset weight on it. Connect it to a Phidgets output module and your golden.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  5. #5
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here you go, found it. It's in Spanish (I think?) but there is a photo in the Yoke section of a mechanical stick shaker on the column.

    http://www.homecockpit.net/INGLES/e_aficiones.html

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie PaulEMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    20 m N of RWY36R LEMD
    Posts
    200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes its Spanish, and without wishing to infringe Rafa Carmona's copyright, it says a DC motor mounted with an offset weight.

    Looks pretty self expanatory. and a great idea.
    Paul

    Project ERJ 145
    www.erj145sim.net

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member rt72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    93
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks all for the help!

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    255
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have one of those Buttkickers and I'm going to try to strap it to the crossmember between the yokes.
    If I can get a buffet sound during stall or just before the stall,, I wonder if it would feel like a stick shaker.
    Or is there a stick shaker wave file somewhere in Fs2004 ?

Similar Threads

  1. anyone know where to get realistic bass shakers for pilot seat.
    By Geremy Britton in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 12-17-2012, 08:07 AM
  2. Amp for bass shakers ???
    By Nick1150 in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 09:04 PM
  3. help chosing an amp for my base shakers
    By jaspar in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 09:33 AM
  4. Seat shakers - experience?
    By superconnie in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-30-2007, 10:54 PM