Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    338
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quad Graphics Cards

    Hi.

    Does anybody know anything about the Matrox G450 MMS 128mb graphics PCI card?

    Four monitors with independant settings are connected to the card. Probably no use for outside views, but handy for instruments?

    Any comments?


    TONY

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member rt72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    93
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm curious too. This could be a good solution for Project Magenta on 1 PC, rather than several. I can't find anything about OpenGL support.

  3. #3
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think 128mg card will choke the system, my last sim PC had a 128mg Matrox Parhelia 3 head card which could only produce 10 - 12 FPS from a 2.8 P4. I've now got a 2.4 quad core with GTS 8800(512ram) card and TH2Go - this gives 35FPS with all FS9 sliders maxed. I still have a spare output on the video card not yet used.

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    338
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Westozy View Post
    I think 128mg card will choke the system, my last sim PC had a 128mg Matrox Parhelia 3 head card which could only produce 10 - 12 FPS from a 2.8 P4. I've now got a 2.4 quad core with GTS 8800(512ram) card and TH2Go - this gives 35FPS with all FS9 sliders maxed. I still have a spare output on the video card not yet used.

    Gwyn
    Hi Gwyn.

    I still have a Matrox Parhelia and I get 50 - 80fps from a single core 3gig proc/ 2g ram PC.

    My main question was directed to the possible use of the Matrox 450 card mentioned for instruments and not outside views. The 450 seems to have three independant outputs that could be ideal for this?

    TONY

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    561
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I don't see why it wouldn't work for instruments. Keep in mind that it's not what I would consider a modern GPU though. My preference would be to pick up 2 entry level nVidia cards to run instruments vs that card.

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member rt72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    93
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I was thinking that it might work with PM on 1 PC vs. several due to the apparent redraw/acceleration issues using multiple cards in the same machine (video acceleration limited to 1 card per machine).

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    338
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Four Monitors - One Card

    Quote Originally Posted by Westozy View Post
    I think 128mg card will choke the system, my last sim PC had a 128mg Matrox Parhelia 3 head card which could only produce 10 - 12 FPS from a 2.8 P4. I've now got a 2.4 quad core with GTS 8800(512ram) card and TH2Go - this gives 35FPS with all FS9 sliders maxed. I still have a spare output on the video card not yet used.

    Gwyn
    Hi Folks

    I managed to get hold of a G450mms 128mb 4 head pci Matrox card on ebay for 60!! (new price 330!).
    The four monitors run well at 1024 res, and are perfect for all instruments and a gps panel too!
    My Parhelia triple outside view is not affected by this card, and in fact, I have installed yet another pci card for use later.

    I would still appreciate hearing from anybody who has tried two 3togo units, on one graphics card. I have heard that it is possible, and would be great for extra views?

    As a matter of interest, I have been told that monitors without left and right bezels are being made for the gamers market to allow screens to match up without a divider on show. Anyone heard of this? Is it a good idea?

    TONY

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member mgdaviso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    They are fine for instrument panels.

    I use one in my Hawk 128 and Global express simulator.

    I wouldn't use them for outside vies, but they work great for instrument panels.

    got both of them for 15 off ebay.

Similar Threads

  1. 2 graphics cards in the one machine.
    By Drewsta in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 04:25 PM
  2. Running dual graphics cards help!
    By jonnydaz53 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 09:55 AM
  3. 1 quad core pc, 2 gfx cards, 4 screens...will it work?
    By dxb747 in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 12:34 PM
  4. Help Re: Graphics Cards....
    By Spoceto1003 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-19-2009, 10:26 AM
  5. 1 Pc with 2 Graphics cards...
    By Spoceto1003 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-19-2009, 06:32 PM