Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member


    chrisdanker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    108
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Using PM PFD/ND and EICAS on one Computer

    Hi,

    Can anyone using Project Magenta Software let me know if it is a good arrangement to use PM Capt PFD/ND and Main EICAS on the same PC with dual head output display cards?

    This would mean running in a windowed mode for the PM software. Will it slow down the Framerates for the PFD/ND? I dont want jerky movements on the PFD/ND whilst flying.

    Reason is that I would like to bring together the PFD/ND and EICAS display on one PC in order to reduce the number of PC's that I have networked, currently 1 PC runs the Capt's PFD/ND and another runs only the EICAS.

    Regards,

    Chris Danker
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    This depends on the specs for this single pc.

    I wouldn't see an issue if this is a decent machine with a good video card.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member


    chrisdanker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    108
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Trevor. I have a decent PC and a goos card so may give it a shot and tray it out.

    Rgds,
    Chris

    Chris Danker
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    your present setup is one comp for PFD/ND, one for eicas,
    I would keep the PFD/ND as is to keep it smooth.
    The Eicas computer is far from being used to its max and could drive the MCP , the CDU , Pm Sound and QuickMap

    The best is to try different setups, It's a bit of a waste to have one comp just for the Eicas anyway..
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm running PFD/ND and EICAS on one P4 2.4G with a dual head, low spec video card, and it works well.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member


    chrisdanker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    108
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Jackpilot and Nic

    Jackpilot, I have all together the following PC's :

    PC1 - FS9
    PC2 - Capt PFD/ND
    PC3 - Upper EICAS
    PC4 - CDU and Lwr EICAS, ActiveSKY, AOG SA_WXR
    PC5 - MCP
    Laptop - PM Inst and PM Systems

    So as it is, I'm not lacking computers but the fact that my PC's are older ones and the casing's are big has lead me the thought of down sizeing the number of PC's that I have.

    Anyway Nic, I'll give it a try on my PC for the PFD/ND & EICAS combination as my PC has the same specs as yours.

    Thanks for the info.

    Rgds,
    Chris

    Chris Danker
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

Similar Threads

  1. Upper and lower EICAS on same computer?
    By FlightsimBerlin in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 02:15 PM
  2. Using PM PFD/ND and EICAS on one Computer
    By chrisdanker in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-03-2008, 07:13 PM
  3. PM eicas display with aerosoft eicas hardware
    By npbosch in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 08:37 AM
  4. PM eicas display with aerosoft eicas hardware
    By npbosch in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 08:37 AM
  5. Monitor size for PFD, MD, EICAS and computer type.
    By apopilot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-06-2007, 01:33 PM