Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question about actual size

    I'm using a Samsung 24" widescreen for my one outside forward view.

    The monitor is about 30" from eyepoint to screen surface.

    Is the default 100% view magnification correct for this combination, or should the view be farther forward or back?

    Does monitor size and distance require an adjustment for what the real view would look like outside of a 20.5"x13" window?

    Just curious about this.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mike

    Download this Excel spreadsheet program, and it will calculate what your zoom should be based on the width of your view and your distance from the screen:

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/down...?do=file&id=96

    The filename is FOV.XLS.

    Or just play with different zoom until you get a view you like and find reasonable.

    By the way, you really should consider getting another one of those 24". I only have 2 22" ones and the view is fantastic.... what a difference over the one monitor..... you should see how incredible the mountains look as you approach LOWI.

    Regards,
    Henry

    Regards,
    Henry

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks! Now I have to find and excel viewer.

    Oops. That didn't work. I forgot it was only a viewer. Maybe if you have this you would calculate the zoom for me please?

    20.5 horizontal view area, 30 from eyepoint.
    Last edited by Michael Carter; 12-15-2007 at 01:05 PM.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It said your zoom should be set to 1.46.

    For a zoom of 1, you eye should be 20" from the screen.

    Here's a link to download a free MS Office compatible suite called OpenOffice:

    http://www.openoffice.org/product/

    Regards,
    Henry

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks! I'll try that.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Good thread.

    I tend to experiment and when using any type of 'big' set up (a 24", or in my case a TH2GO 3x19" set up), I tend to get best results with a 'less than 1.0' zoom level. A zoom level of 0.75 is probably the best comprimise - gives you far better perception of speed while bombing down the runway and more scenery to the peripherals.

    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    With my setup, the spreadsheet calculated the zoom to be set to 0.72, but I actually like 0.5 better so that's what I'm using now.

    David, are your 19" widescreen?

    Regards,
    Henry

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It gave me .82 as the zoom factor for my PJ. Interesting.

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by andarlite View Post
    With my setup, the spreadsheet calculated the zoom to be set to 0.72, but I actually like 0.5 better so that's what I'm using now.

    David, are your 19" widescreen?

    Regards,
    Henry
    Hi Henry - No, at the moment, I am using TH2GO with 3 x standard (4:3) 19" TFTs ........ there are upgrade plans though !

    Need to upgrade my video card first thought - I am currently using a ATI X1950 in my FS PC, but ATI have a disappointing max resolution of 2400 x 600 with the TH2GO ... .....Nvidia cards give a much high resolution (figure escapes me). So I will probably upgrade to a better GPU card, then go for 3 x 22" (or 24") widescreens.

    The plus side of the ATI is that you get really, really strong FPS performance.... I am currently running FS9 and feelThere Airbus Series add-ons, from 1 x PC across a total of 5 screens, with max settings in FS, and frame rates never drop below 30+ .... that is all from a reasonably modest Core2Duo E6600 .....and remember the dual cores aren't being used by FS9 !

    I expect I'll take a FPS hit when I go to Nvidia and increase resolution across the TH2GO set-up by 33% ....but it will be worth it when I'm flying the 'bus over the Alps!



    .
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have the X1950GT in mine and I'm very impressed with it for use with FS9. I've been using FS9 for about three years now, but I've never seen it like this.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Similar Threads

  1. Size of 737 knob
    By mrmaster in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2011, 11:50 AM
  2. Gear size/teeth question
    By jsfboat in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 03:39 AM
  3. Gauge size
    By nosecone in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-2010, 11:49 PM
  4. 737 MCP 7-Segment LED size
    By ifeltsweet in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 05:36 AM
  5. pm fo side nd size
    By David Withers in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 05:39 AM