Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    CDU cannot read Position : help needed !

    Hi all,

    Last week I switched over from XP to Vista on my server.
    FSX has been installed , as also FSUIPC and WideFS.

    My 2 client pc's are running on XP.

    Everything has been shared and FiddleMachForPM=Yes has been added to FSUIPC ini.
    The Glasscockpit software is working fine.
    However when turning on the CDU the GC sievs the ATT and MAP message and is waiting for the CDU.

    In the CDU I want to set the current position with the Set Irs Position.
    But when pressing the button nothing happens.
    So no position is being shown.

    On the CDU cleint I also run the Lower Eicas.
    Withoug the CDU running it is working fine ; when the cDU is running no values change anymore.

    Help is appriciated.

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mmm, could be many things (and running Vista and XP co-existing on a network makes me shiver in itself!).

    First thing for me would be to check the cdu.ini file on the client ........ is there any detection of keypress in any page of the CDU ?

    You could also take a look at the NETDIR folder and endure that it is still shared and accessible from the Vista server PC... (Vista is bonkers about security, including sharing).

    Are you using a hardware interface for the CDU, or just the PM CDU, via a monitor?

    If you're using a hardware and your getting no detection of keypress, I would look at the COM settings in your device manager, and ensure that the correct COM is still included in the cdu.ini.

    Aside from these checks, an unistall and reinstall of all PM components may sort the issue.

    Again, I am just surprised to read of someone upgrading to Vista, in a 'pit environment - I can't see the advantages? ....more resource hungry, more resource spent on OS visuals, more security restrained etc....
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IJmuiden, Netherlands
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Gerard,

    Looks as a network problem to me, as if the cdu client can not connect to the fsserver. Can you see all pc's from every pc in windows explorer?
    Can you ping to other pc's.
    Did you use PMfilechecker?

Similar Threads

  1. DA...ALL I HAD TO DO IS READ THE TABS!!!
    By brother777 in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 01:57 PM
  2. Anybody read this book?
    By choffmann in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 04:45 PM
  3. Level D 767 pit or OTHER?? Read and see what I mean.
    By shearder in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 02:09 AM
  4. A Good Read....
    By andarlite in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-09-2008, 11:00 PM
  5. Software FAQ - Read Only
    By Enrico Schiratti in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 02:22 PM