Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    which Stepper motor?

    Hi all,
    i am curious if there are any Ozzies using the opencockpits USB DCMotors card for there trim wheel? If so which one & is it from ****smith or Jaycar?



    Thanks
    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have not bothered at this stage to do the trim wheel, as there is enough problems getting the more important parts of the software running, so I kind of said "leave that til another day ". Let me know how it works out Michael.
    Cheers..................Brian W.

  3. #3
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by bindook View Post
    Hi all,
    i am curious if there are any Ozzies using the opencockpits USB DCMotors card for there trim wheel? If so which one & is it from ****smith or Jaycar?



    Thanks
    Michael
    Hi Mike,
    I'm still wondering why you want to use steppers. A direct drive reversable DC motor will adjust the trim wheels with plenty of torque and speed, the trim indicators will adjust the trim pot position through a mechanical reduction drive. Trimming has to be felt through the stick, as you know, you have to feel when the plane is in trim. If you have a stepper motor driving trim wheels, how will you calibrate and synchronize pot position? I still don't understand the desire for all of this complication, I think I need a better understanding of the operation of OC trim inputs/outputs and steppers in general. I can fit a stepper motor to your TQ with an appropriate reduction drive but how much torque can steppers provide, will it be enough to provide rapid trim wheel turn. I have an Airbus video and have seen the real thing operate.
    In short, I'm not sold on your plans. (yet?)

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Gooday Gwyn, as far as I can tell there is no feeling on the Airbus stick as to the effect of the trim wheel. It is automatic and as far as the control stick, it remains in the middle of the range, which is of course completely different to what you and I do in real aircraft. That is providing you are using an Airbus in FS. If you are using the 737 model in FS 2004 as I am, then you need to use the trim wheel. So again it depends how far you need to take the realism factor, and what is practical for one's own preferences.
    Cheers...................Brian W.

  5. #5
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Brian, as you may have guessed, I am building Michaels TQ. I am always focussed on simplicity of build and operation of any part. At the end of the day I'll fit any motor he wants to the TQ no prob. Thanks for the info re- sidestick operation, always good to learn more.

    Cheers Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Stepper Board
    By mondo50m in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-25-2010, 03:32 AM
  2. Stepper Motor Source in Australia
    By BeechBonanza in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 07:30 AM
  3. Stepper Motors
    By mach7 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-23-2009, 10:46 AM
  4. Stepper Cards Zero Position
    By Tripacer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2009, 05:25 AM
  5. 4 Motor Servo + Scorpion DC Motor Controller
    By farrokh747 in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-09-2008, 04:04 PM