Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Shutting Down Background Programs

    Hi All,

    Have a question that no doubt has been asked before!! What programs are there that will shut down all programs except the ones you need to run the system and FS? Trying to improve my frame rates with all the airport sceneries and thought about shutting down unnecessary programs and having them start up on exiting FS.

    Many Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There is one called FSAutoStart, but I do not know much about it.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rob,

    I use to use FSAutostart by Ken Salter to shutdown all unwanted services, however there is much conjecture on Avsim forums as to the real benefit of this. I thought I got better framerates using it, but I've stopped using it for some time now and noticed no difference in framerate. You can get similar results from just shutting down anti-virus programs and extra things manually. Better still get AV's and Firewall's that have a small resources footprint.

    There can be lots of services and programs running in the background of a typical system and unless you really know what you are doing, you can get into trouble turning some of them off. Having said that FSAutostart does give you a tip on each known service and advises whether to turn it off or not. It's free so no harm to give it a try. It will also restart all services once you've finished simming if you want.

    Honestly I got the best improvement from a good third party defragger like Ultimate Defrag.

    Hope this helps,

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  4. #4
    Mycockpit, Inc. CTO Deesystems's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Mycockpit,INC Boston Office
    Posts
    290
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    free up services

    Rob,
    Ive used the information at http://www.blackviper.com/Articles/OS/OSguides.htm

    he has all of the sevices listed and what they do for different OS's

    General Information
    Red Hat 8.0
    Windows 2000 Professional and Server
    Windows 2003 Enterprise Server
    Windows Me
    Windows Vista
    Windows XP Home
    Windows XP Professional

    Shutting down unused services will free up system memory and cpu usage in msfs it will bring up fps.

    Dee

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks! That's what I was looking for.

    Now if I could get these computers to talk to one another.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It may not give more FPS but it will help get rid of stutters.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I've already talked to Bob about posting this link on here and got the "OK"....... I don't nornally "pimp" my main flight sim home, Simviation, here.... but the following link is one of the most worthwhile "tweeking" postings on setting up a machine for flight simming on Windows that you will find anywhere on the net.

    Can't go into all the details but the poster of this great info, NickN, (formerly Nick N) has a really heavy background in computers, does testing work for hardware manufacturers, and is/was a consultant on FS projects for MS. He knows his stuff and he very generously shares that expertise with folks on the SimV forums. This extensive posting is just one of his offerings.

    http://www.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya...028653;start=0

    The forum posting above is listed for FSX... but most of the stuff he mentions is also fine for FS9. One caveat....... follow his very sequential instructions TO THE LETTER if you expect it to work the miracles that it does. READ the whole thing first and print it out. Take your time doing it. It is long and involved. Read all of the stuf in those 12 pages of postings.... lots of "hints" hiding in there too.

    Enjoy!

    best,

    ....................john

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's the one I was really looking for.

    Thanks!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Back-up

    I've read the Nic's post several times before, but a couple questions remain. Should I install MSFS into its own partioned space before doing these tweaks. To do that would I need to reformat my hard drive? Doing that, would I need to reinstall XP? How deep should one go to get the best performance. And in regards to Nic's posting, do I need to back anything up before trying these tweaks, for such a detailed post it does not mention backing up data.

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I did all that Nick said except I cant get O&O Defrag to run on my 64bit system but I did notice a FPS difference not much maybe 3 or 4 but its better then no FPS improvment.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. programs plz help thx
    By cheston in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 01:58 AM
  2. Independant programs available.
    By DarylL in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 07:17 PM
  3. Getting FS to start external programs
    By Sean Nixon in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 02:50 PM
  4. Are there generic lekseecon or FSCONV programs
    By jmig in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 12:12 PM
  5. Load calculation - Engineering background?
    By Jonathan Richardson in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2005, 12:36 PM