75+ Posting Member

Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

giving up on real gauges?

I have put aside my sim project for at least a year due to frustration. I lost motivation while trying to get real gauges to work with my sim. The problems were two fold. First, converting the gauges to servos was difficult trying to get it all to work mechanicaly. second, writing the code using fsupic was overwhelming, I am not a programmer for certain.
    So, I had thought about giving up but instead am thinking about ditching the gauges and going with either monitor setup or a simkit type of display. I am looking for advice or comments. Should I give up and sell the gauges I have or give it another try?

Re: giving up on real gauges?

I feel your frustration...which gauges are you trying to interface?

Not sure which gauges you're trying to replicate?On another note, I have a complete set of B737 Flight illusion gauges for sale if you're interested .
    Cheers,
    Phil
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

150+ Forum Groupie

I see this thread is kinda old. If the OP is still hanging around, let me chime in. First, don't assume you have to use servos for everything. You'll find that once you do the "R&D" on a few real instruments and see how they work and can be interfaced, reading/driving them directly is often easier than hacking them up to accept servos (plus servos don't go 360*...a HUGE drawback). For instance, I recently cracked out a workable solution for directly reading resolvers with an Arduino. Some gauges use DC motors and potentiometers, which are a cinch to interface. I've also found that synchros (and rotating parts in general) can be nicely interfaced by converting them to Hall encoders.