Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Question on using PFC console with Bodnars card

Hey everyone, I'm very new to the building stuff, but have been using FS since 98.

I have obtained through the flight school I managed, the PCATD which is an old (late 90s) Precision Flight Controls unit. It is serial controlled. I was hoping to take it home and hook it up to FSX via PFCFSX.dll and FSUIPC4.dll drivers. I know the console works, because it worked at the school running the compatible Elite IFR training software.

Stuff almost worked but here's the problem:
    There's a tick in the power causing interference. When I try to calibrate via PFC software, the yoke, it just ticks the ailerons hard left, and neither the ailerons or elevator respond. When I run the sim, it seems there are all sorts of commands being sent out at random as the views change, the airplane turns, the sim pauses...all by itself. Suprisingly, the PFC software confirms everything okay at startup!

I'm starting to think this one is just too old to use like this and am considering using the console anyway. So these Bodnars card things.... Can I basically just take all the wiring from all the switches and hook them up to this card and it becomes a joystick with a bunch of buttons that can be programmed via FSUIPC4? Is it that easy? How much do I have to understand about electrical? Can I ditch the whole powered system of the console all together?

Unless you have other ways to fix the console I may do this but it would result in the console being ruined and if it doesn't work out, it will be sold for parts.

Also, the Avionics stack works in FSX if I plug the DB9 connection directly to the PC via DB9-USB interface. So if anything at least I get that.