Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    10+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

I'm new to MyCockpit!

Hello All,

I'm new to MyCockpit. My name is Gil. I have been flying MSFS for many years. Also, I am a "real" commercial pilot and flight instructor. I also have my own Cessna. I have built a generic fixed-wing sim and it's been operational for five or six years. I use it mainly for instrument currency and it has proven to be very reliable and functional.

I have a "professional" background in simulators as I worked for both Boeing and McDonnell-Douglas. I have hundreds and hundreds of hours in Level D (CAE and FlightSafety) sims such as MD-11, MD-90, B-717, etc. I also did freelance service work on general aviation sims suchs as ATC, Frasca, etc. My background in electronics is extensive (hardware and low-level assembly coding) but I am a Windows weakling.

Much of my current "home" sim is plug and play with MSFS 2004, Goflight, etc. I do have several "extras" designed around some PIC micros.

My goal is to replace the Goflight modules, not because they are bad, but because I want the realism even better. This is where I need help. I really know nothing about FSUIPC and how MSFS really works at the gut level. I figure once I understand how these work, I may be able to come up with some neat designs for radios, etc.

I'm sure I'll have plenty of stupid questions at first but I'm hoping I can give back in some way.

500+ This must be a daytime job Ronson2k9's Avatar

Re: I'm new to MyCockpit!